Skip to content

Made at Home

April 19, 2011

One of the things that A and I have in common and love to plan and talk about, is our desire to use more locally made products. Not just produce, but products. It’s not easy, not by a long shot, but we’re always on the lookout for things that were Made In Canada. Heck, we’ll settle for Made in North America! Environmentally, economically and socially, those are better alternatives to things made overseas.

Food is a little easier to find from local sources, though the winter months are difficult. Despite living in southern Ontario which boasts a lot of farms, our growing season is not that long. It’s almost May though and Farmer’s Market’s will be opening up soon, and we plan on frequenting such places for our produce.

In the meantime, we’ve been buying frozen locally grown items when possible from various markets around where we live, and just last week I bought a voucher from Web Piggy for $400 worth of organic and naturally raised meat/poultry/fish from local sources for only $100! That will go a long way for us.

There is also the option of growing my own vegetables at some point. I just need my neighbours to finish building our fence…the holes are there, and have been since last fall, but otherwise, nada. I can’t plant anything until that goes in.

Our goal is to get ourselves out of the habit of shopping at large grocery stores and into local markets and even grow our own. We want to know where our food comes from. My own personal goal is to start canning and preserving (I might start with beets) and maybe even make my own bread!

I’ll keep y’all posted on our efforts. It will be an adventure!

No comments yet

Leave a comment