Skip to content

Ramblings

July 6, 2015

On Oliver…

I’ve been noticing the past few weeks how my baby boy is losing the ‘baby’ and is very much a little boy now! At his 15 month appointment a couple of weeks ago, our doctor asked how many words he was saying. At the time, not many. I wasn’t too worried, since he has more than met all other milestones. But all of a sudden his vocabulary is exploding! Intermixed with his constant babble are words like ‘cracker’, ‘bubbles’, ‘meatballs’, ‘poppy’, and just today, ‘pasta’ (notice the dominance of food terminology…he loves his food!).

And thank heavens he’s FINALLY sleeping well. He’s still waking about once a night to nurse (more about that in a bit) but it’s not until around 3am (having gone to sleep at 7:30) and then he goes back to sleep until at least 6. Phew! It’s made a huge difference for me. If he happens to wake up earlier, which sometimes he does, I have A go up and settle him back down. I love that it’s not just me anymore!

We’re still gung ho with nursing. And since he’s sleeping better, I’m ok with that. He nurses a lot when I’m at home. A lot. He doesn’t seem to be slowing down anytime soon. I’m ok for another few months I think. I would prefer he wean on his own but I would prefer it sooner rather than later 🙂

On Molly…

In one months time, my baby girl will be three years old. Three! How is it that we have a three year old?? How will I possibly make it to four?? Lol. Sort of. Molly has been giving us a run for our money lately. We never know what will set her off. We try our best to give her advanced notice of a change in activity but sometimes it’s not enough and all hell breaks loose. I know it’s normal behaviour, but it’s hard.

All that aside, we are incredibly proud of our girl! She’s so smart and funny and very kind. We get nothing but glowing reports from her preschool (same goes for Oliver) and her teachers are always saying how helpful she is and how kind she is to other students. She’s quite loving and is amazing with her little brother. They get along really well!

On Me…

Well, I’m sleeping better, which is great. So great. I can’t even tell you how exhausted I was! I don’t handle being tired very well. I’m still not always on top of things (getting stuff done with two kids is impossible!), but I do my best and at least I’m not exhausted AND frustrated. Work is going really well, with a busy summer ahead of us. A is busy at work too over the next few months, so no summer vacation for us. We might take some time off in the fall.

We’re not all work and no play though! Summer means trips to my parent’s trailer, cottage visits and lots of gardening! I’m trying square foot gardening this year and with the exception of my cucumbers and peas having a run in with a rabbit, everything is growing well.

As always, instagram is a great place to find me these days (link in the right sidebar)! It’s a lot faster to upload a pic and a lot less work than encouraging my brain to write coherent sentences.

I hope everyone’s summer is off to a lovely start! Stay cool!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2015 1:23 pm

    Aren’t three-year olds a hoot? Never before have I witnessed a person go from happy to sad and back to happy again in such a short time frame!

Leave a Reply

