Skip to content

Squashing My Hopes

April 22, 2011

Inspired by B’s post on squash the other day, I had a craving for roasted acorn squash earlier this week, but our store didn’t have any in stock so I picked this beauty up instead:

I know, not local, but when wants a particular flavour, it’s hard to ignore it until it’s satisfied. I chopped it into quarters, dabbed on a bit of butter and popped it in the oven until I could push a fork through the flesh easily, about 45 minutes. It smelled good and looked good:

But something was off about it. The flavour was lovely and squashy, but the texture was very dry. Even adding more butter didn’t help things. Perhaps I need to cook it longer? I’m not quite sure but I’m going to do a little bit of research to find out how to improve it next time (if A will agree to eat it again).

In other news, it’s Easter weekend, which means a four-day weekend around this casa! Some people have to work on Monday, but we’re lucky enough to have it off. Our weekend is chalk full of stuff to do, but last night we found ourselves puttering out and about not really accomplishing much. I love those nights! We went to Lowe’s and checked out a ton of ideas for renos we’d like to do to the house someday. Whew! Spending imaginary money is exhausting!

We did pick up some beautiful Easter lilies for the table:

They smell so good!

Happy Easter everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

