Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

February 27, 2015

On Oliver…

We’re struggling, Oliver and I. Or rather I am. His nighttime sleep is awful, with him waking three or more (mostly more) times a night. I’m finding it hard in terms of sleep deprivation but I’m also at war with myself as far as a course of action. Do I leave things as they are and hope he figures it out soon or do I let go of my beliefs and night wean/sleep train? Since he starts day care next week, I can’t do anything right now. Too much change for him! We’ll see how the transition goes and then I’ll decide what to do. 

Otherwise, he’s great! Not walking yet (I’d hoped he would before he started day care) but who needs walking when you’re a speed crawler? He’s waving and says “ha” for hi and just this morning gave me a high five! I can’t believe my baby is almost one! 

On Molly…

Our little miss has discovered the sweet life of sleeping with Mommy and Daddy. A couple of months ago she was sick with a high fever. My fear of her seizing with a febrile seizure hasn’t diminished, so I brought her into bed with us. Ever since she’s wanted in. She goes to sleep in her own bed but will usually end up with us at some point. Sometimes it’s at 11. Sometimes it’s at 5am. Sometimes she doesn’t come in at all. Though not ideal, we’re not overly concerned at this point. We’re getting sleep and that’s what matters right now. We’re lucky to have a king sized bed! 

On Me…

I start work on March 17! I’ll be honest, I’m excited about having time away from the kids. I’ll miss them but I look forward to that! Being at home with them all the time means I don’t have the chance to miss them. There’s something to be said for that. 

I’ve been busy getting things in order, figuring out meal plans, identifying gaps in my wardrobe etc. I’ve been doing a bit of shopping (a few pairs of shoes, a new bag, a couple pairs of pants) but nothing significant. I’m lucky that all of my work clothes fit, so not a lot is needed.  

On Meal Planning…

I’ve actually been doing pretty good with meal planning since the beginning of the year. A lot of the meals I’ve been making are ones that can carry over into another meal. They also tend to be versatile dishes that can be served in a variety of ways (with rice, pasta or in a wrap) and will freeze well. These are going to be go-to meals for us on work nights. Our timing will be tight and I don’t want to rely too much on pre-packaged meals and take out. If I prepare toppings in advance (shred cheese, chop veggies etc) than prep time should be short. 

Same goes for lunches. I work in the city and the average lunch out is $15, if not more. I need to bring my own lunch to save us some money. I’ve found several recipes that will create several meals for me. 

My master plan is to try and blog about all this in more detail but I feel like I’m crying wolf when I say that. I’m beginning to sound like a broken record but I really want to find time to blog more. Ah time. You elude me. 

Happy Friday everyone!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2015 10:33 am

    I feel like I’m constantly crying wolf on my blog 🙂 I have good intentions, and many drafts started. (I have a cloth diaper one from when G was 6 months old. He’s almost 3!!) It’s a blogging goal of mine to post those drafts!

    • February 28, 2015 10:14 pm

      Lol I just deleted like 15 posts I started over the past six months but never finished. Someday I’ll have coherent thoughts again 🙂

  2. February 28, 2015 10:12 pm

    Argh, I hear you. I caved in and sleep trained Zachary when he was 8 months because I couldn’t take it anymore. It went well. But then he got UTI, the croup, then something else… and each time hydration was number one priority and were back to feeding at 12, 2, 4, 6… I am sleep training him again now. He just turned one yesterday.

    I never had to sleep train Timothy – he always slept. Almost from birth. This time I am at the end of my wits…

    Whatever you decide, I wish you strength to see things through!

    • February 28, 2015 10:16 pm

      Thanks! It’s such a crap shoot really. Like you said, you can get it so it works but then something messes it up. I’m going to let him adjust to day care for a couple of months and if nothing changes we’ll try a different approach.

Leave a Reply

