Skip to content

The Art of Potty Training

January 23, 2015

Bah! I’m kidding. As if there’s an art. I know there are gads of books and suggestions for how to go about doing it but to be honest I haven’t read a thing about it! We’ve gone with our instincts and trusted Molly to lead the way.
We really began over a year ago, when she started wanting to sit on the toilet fully clothed. Gradually she wanted to sit without clothes and very occasionally she would pee. But it was so random we didn’t attempt underwear. By that point Oliver had arrived and there was no way in Hades I had the inclination to continue the training process, so we didn’t encourage her. That is until they started suggesting it at daycare. Last summer they asked us to send along numerous changes of clothes and they worked with her on it there. Which of course translated to her wanting to do it at home.
Because Oliver was so little, I was resistant to the idea. Diapers were so easy! No accidents, LESS LAUNDRY! And less freaking time. I didn’t want to drop what I was doing and take her to the bathroom only to have her dilly dally on the toilet (with no results) and then linger to wash her hands. I had no patience, so A often ended up being the point person for that.
However as things got easier with the baby, so did my attitude about it. I also really had no choice. As the fall wore on, she more and more started asking to wear underwear. She would insist on using the potty even if she had a diaper on and, this is a key point, she started doing #2 on the toilet.

Side note: here’s where I admit that if she has any #2 accidents, I throw out the dirty undies. I’m just. Not. Going. There. We have plenty of undies to last us a good long time šŸ™‚

We’re now at the point where she will go all day, nap included, in underwear and have no accidents. Her daycare actually sent home her diaper stash last week! They don’t put her in diapers at all there anymore. Some days at home with me she’ll request a diaper and I won’t deny her. We’re still in diapers at night, as she still wakes up wet in the morning.
But, and this is huge, we’ve taken her out shopping without a diaper on and haven’t had any accidents! She’s pretty good about asking to go when we’re out and about and thankfully we’ve always been in a place that’s had a washroom.

It’s great not having to change, and buy, as many diapers, but the real joy I’m feeling is in watching her grow into such a big girl thing. My baby girl isn’t a baby any more and I couldn’t be more proud of the little girl she’s becoming.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2015 2:27 pm

    Love this! Landon will be 2 next month so the dialogue started months ago. I don’t think he’s ready yet but this gives me hope that it’s not as intimidating as I fear… Only time will tell though, huh?
    Good luck!

    • January 23, 2015 2:33 pm

      Just follow his lead and you’ll be fine! Plus you have a new baby! Settle in with her first. That’s what made it less stressful for me. šŸ™‚

  2. January 23, 2015 5:47 pm

    I didn’t dive into the deep end of the potty training pool until Isla was just over 2-years old. We’ve come a long way, but we still have a ways to go. It’s by far the biggest challenge we’ve come across in terms of parenting. I’m hoping she’s fully trained by the time baby #2 comes along in June, so fingers crossed!

    And you’re right – there is no “art” to potty training! Nor is there a “simple & easy method.” šŸ˜‰

    • January 23, 2015 8:05 pm

      Fingers crossed!! Take heart, I read somewhere that the older kids are when they’re trained, the less likely they are to have bladder infections and constipation. Younger toddlers will hold it more often, causing those problems. I thought that was an interesting bit of info.

Leave a Reply

