Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

January 16, 2015

It’s been FOREVER since I’ve done a Friday Ramblings. I hope to do a decent catch up post soon but in the meantime…

On Oliver…
Our little mister continues to wake several times in the night. Sometimes I’m fine with it, sometimes I’m not. But my core beliefs about sleep training (not until he’s over a year) and night weaning (I won’t deny breastfeeding if that’s what he wants) prevent me from doing much about it. I just have to be patient and remember it doesn’t last forever! Thankfully he’s a pretty good napper and both kids will nap at the same time, giving me time to nap as well if I need it.
Otherwise he’s great! Almost 10 months, 24 lbs, babbling and He’s starting to cruise around holding onto furniture. I really hope he walks before I go back to work!!

On Molly…
Molly will be 2.5 next month and we are continually astonished by her development. She’s less baby now and more little girl. This time next year we’ll be registering her for junior kindergarten!
We’ve been more vigilant about potty training, with great success! The key for us was letting her take the lead. If she wants underwear, she gets underwear. If she wants a diaper, she can wear a diaper. Just this week though her daycare sent home her diaper stash. No more diapers there!
I’m still in no rush. Sometimes it’s easier for her to have a diaper on. Plus, less laundry for me if there are accidents (though I admit to tossing really dirty undies. Who wants to deal with those?).

On Me…
I’m tired. But I recently had confirmed (I’d suspected) that I have really low iron, so that’s part of what’s contributing to my fatigue. I’ve been taking a gentle iron supplement and I seem to be a bit perkier. Enough so that I’ve started working out again! We unearthed my elliptical trainer from the basement storage and moved it to our room. I’m using it when I can, even if for just 10 minutes.
I start back to work in two months and the kids start day care before that three days a week at the beginning of March…I’m going to get a bit of a vacation! I’m looking forward to going to work but am also feeling nervous about leaving Oliver. I’m going to be doing a three day a week work schedule though, so I’ll still have a couple of days with my babies 🙂

On Date Nights…
With Oliver on solids now, his nursing schedule has become fairly predictable which is awesome because it’s giving us a chance to have much needed date nights! For my birthday we went out to dinner, just the two of us. We were back in time to put the kids to bed.
On A’s birthday a week later, we had a double date with BFF B and her hubby. This time my parents handled bedtime while we had a great dinner and went glow-in-the-dark mini-putting! Such fun!
It’s amazing to be at that point again and great to have time out sans children. We don’t need that sort of thing often, but it’s nice to have the option.

On Instagram…
You guys, I’m not sure how I haven’t jumped on the Instagram bandwagon sooner. I love it! You can follow me via the link to the right!

Finally, here are my babies! They are just the best!

2015/01/img_2709.jpg

2015/01/img_2710.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 16, 2015 10:14 am

    OMG! She’s so big! It’s unbelievable!

Leave a Reply

