Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

October 10, 2014

On Oliver…
I expect our little guy to have a tooth any day now! There’s a very evident bump on his lower gums. He’ll be 7 months on the 21st, which falls in line with when Molly got her first tooth (a week shy of 7 months).
He hasn’t been sleeping the best. It could be attributed to any number of things. When I mentioned it to my doctor she asked if I was still feeding him in the night. Uh, yes. And I’m not likely to stop. I nursed Molly in the night until she night-weaned herself at 14 months. I’ve never really understood people telling me my baby shouldn’t need to eat at night after a certain point. Who is anyone to say whether my baby is hungry or not other than my baby?
Speaking of eating, we started baby led weaning a few weeks ago. It’s going very well! He took to it like gangbusters and really, I expected no less. What I didn’t expect though was how frustrated he would be if he can’t grasp something or gum off enough to eat. So I’ve adapted our feeding philosophy and am offering oat cereal and purées. He’s actually kind of feeding himself the purées, as he grabs the spoon and I help guide it to his mouth.

On Molly…
Molly is a chatterbox. She has a running commentary going almost all the time! It’s really wonderful to hear but I’m happy for the quiet moments too. I am extremely proud of her manners though! Please, thank you, excuse me…I’ve been drilling them into her practically since birth. A lot of the time now she’ll use them without prompting.
Undaunted by the weather getting cooler, we take lots of walks during the week to the store or the park. She’s addicted to the swing right now and has become quite the climber! Unless other kids are around…then she stops like a deer caught in the headlights and stares at them.

On Me…
I’m soooo close to my first weight loss goal. Only a couple of pounds left! I may have to do a bit of careful eating next week since it’s Thanksgiving this weekend.
For the most part, I’m really enjoying my time with the kids. There are moments of course when I just want to pull my hair out and scream, but the good times outweigh the bad. It makes me wonder if I could be a stay at home mom for good (money wise it wouldn’t make a difference since most of my salary will go to day care). But then I think about my job and how I love it and look forward to going back to work in March. It gets confusing at times.

And that’s all I’ve got to say. I have a few projects on the go I’m hoping to share when I can. But as you can imagine, things are pretty busy around here these days!
Happy Thanksgiving!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

