Skip to content

Ramblings

September 17, 2014

Greetings friends! I know it’s been awhile since I last checked in. A lot is happening…where to start?

On Molly…

We are a full month and more into miss Molly turning two and boy oh boy are we ever feeling it! Within seconds she can go from being adorable and sweet to throwing a ‘toss herself down on the floor’ tantrum because we won’t let her do something that could cause bodily harm. She’s testing us from all angles. Sometimes we pass and sometimes we fail. I guess that’s parenting!
Tantrums aside though, she’s amazing. Despite the frustration of her behaviour sometimes, we’re exceedingly proud to call her our daughter.

On Oliver…

Our little mister is getting bigger every day! He’ll be six months in a few days. We haven’t had his 6 month check up yet, so I don’t have any stats but he’s currently wearing 12 month size sleepers and tops and 9 month size pants. He’s interested in everything he can get his hands on, enough that he’s developed some crawling moves that are part commando and part inch worm. It’s slow going but any day now I expect him to figure it out and really start moving!
We started him on solids this week, following the baby led weaning principles that we did for Molly. I had intended to start with avocado, as we did with her, but in a state of frustration the other day when he wouldn’t let me put him down at dinner (I think meal interruption bothers me more than lack of sleep), we gave him banana. We’ve since moved onto squash. So far so good!

On Me…

I’ve been sick. Like ‘101 degree F fever for five days’ kind of sick. No other real symptoms other than aches and chills and almost passing out at the bank (that was fun), so the doctor diagnosed it as a virus. Molly and Oliver both had milder versions of it over the past week. Of course being the mom and not being able to rest like I should, mine was worse and lasted longer. I’ve never been the type to push through when I’m sick, generally giving in to the malaise and letting my body recover as it’s supposed to, so it’s especially hard for me to be sick with kids and still be on the go.
But I’m on the mend now and feeling great! Part of that too is that I hit my pre-pregnant with Oliver weight! Yahoo! And I’m only 7 lb away from my pre-Molly weight, so I’m feeling happy.
I’m hoping to get a lot of walking in until the weather turns. That’s should be relatively easy because….

On Our Car Situation…

A’s beloved 2000 Honda Accord passed last week. At 14 years old, it was on it’s last legs and we knew it wouldn’t be long until the cost to keep it running would be too much but we didn’t quite expect it so soon. With A just starting his new job, we’re not going to over extend ourselves with a new car loan or add to our line of credit, so for now a single car family we will be! My Nissan Sentra is only 5 years old and in good shape. I can drive him to work when necessary and I’m lucky that my mom is retired and lives very close by. We can use her truck whenever we need to or tag along with her to run errands. And when the weather is nice, there’s a grocery store, drug store, heck, even a liquor store, only a 15 minute walk away! In a few months we might consider buying or leasing something else, but I’m curious to see how we can manage with just one. It would certainly make a difference as far as saving money!

On The Change…

I suppose the biggest change right now is that A started his new job on Monday. He seems to be enjoying himself as he gets the lay of the land. There are actually several people from his previous employer working there now (they transitioned before him), so he already knows people! That’s a huge comfort when starting somewhere new.
I will admit I’ve been apprehensive over the past couple of weeks knowing I would be taking care of the kids solo now during the weekdays. I’ve treasured having A’s help over the past six months and really relied on him to get through the days. Even with the two of is it was a challenge. How would I do it on my own? I was especially concerned when I got sick last Thursday. As I mentioned, I’m not a good sick person.
It’s only been a few days but so far it’s been not terrible! I’ve had my moments, particularly when trying to get the baby down for a nap with Molly underfoot (why do they make so much noise??), but nothing a little Bubble Guppies couldn’t fix! Almost as if they wanted to ease me into my new role, they napped at the same time for a couple of hours the first two days!

On a New Blog Challenge…

I’m creating a new blog challenge for myself I’m hoping to reveal in a few days, if not sooner assuming I can pull myself together. I really want to get back to blogging more. It’s truly a part of who I am and I miss it terribly. Stay tuned and thanks for being patient 🙂

And that’s all for now folks. Have a great weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 18, 2014 11:22 am

    That’s sucks that your second vehicle died 😦 My car is 10 years old, so it’s definitely starting to show signs that it’s nearing the end of its life. The husband and I are peeking around at new (to us) vehicle options, and it’s the most annoying thing ever. I hate car shopping almost more than I hate house hunting.

    It’s 2 a “fun age? 😉 Kids are emotional monsters, I tell yah!

Leave a Reply

