Skip to content

Homemade Cheese Crackers

September 3, 2014
DSC_7970 copy (1280x1024)

Cheesy goodness, all 8 oz of it!

Molly is very much into crackers right now, particularly those lovely fish-shaped treats that come in a variety of flavours. While buying them isn’t a huge deal for me (I’m all about quick and easy right now), I came across a recipe a while back for a homemade version on the Tasty Kitchen website that looked like a lot of fun to make with my daughter. I’m not going to lie: given that I’m dairy free right at the moment, this was slightly torturous for me. Just look at all that cheesy goodness I couldn’t eat! I do confess though to tasting the finished product (what if they were bad? I can’t feed my child bad snacks) and are they ever delicious!! I particularly love the flavour of the old cheddar I used and knowing that there are only five ingredients makes me happy 🙂

Molly and I got to work (she stood on her ‘stoo’) and mixed everything in the food processor. Her favourite part was pressing the start button.

DSC_7973 copy (1280x1024)

Once the dough was in the fridge setting, as per the instructions, Molly kind of lost interest. It was up to me to finish up, so when it was ready I rolled out the dough and used my adorable new mini cookie cutters I picked up at our local bulk foods store a few weeks ago. Funny story, I actually bought a set once before but they’re so small I tossed them out with the what I thought was empty bag (I know, I know, I should be saving and reusing my plastic bags. Sue me. There’s only so much I can focus on at one time right now! Things easily slip through the cracks.).

Aren’t they cute? That’s a hippo in case you couldn’t tell. DSC_7980 copy (1280x1024)

The original recipe contains a tutorial for making your own fish-shaped cutter, but I’m lucky I had enough time to do the actual baking!  The dough was easy to roll out (I only used half to start; the other half is in the fridge still) and the shapes easily came free of the cutter. I placed them on parchment and put them in the oven.

DSC_7986 copy (1280x848)

And this is the result! DSC_7992 copy (1280x848)

Because my dough was probably a little thicker than what was done for the recipe, it took an extra 10 minutes in the oven to get them nice and crispy. Molly loves the final result and so do I! The flavour of the cheese explodes in your mouth. If only I could have more…DSC_7996 copy (1280x1024)

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 3, 2014 11:21 am

    These look so yummy! Isla loves those silly goldfish-shaped crackers too; I may just have to try out this recipe!

Leave a Reply

