Skip to content

DIY Hand Towel With Handle

September 2, 2014

There’s a lot of hand washing around these parts. I’m no germophobe but raising a toddler means you’re dealing with a variety of  known and unknown sticky substances on a regular basis. Not to mention that said toddler is obsessed with the sink and wants to wash her hands a million times a day. It’s gotten to the point where we’ve added “wash” to the list of words we spell so she won’t hear it!
When we do wash our hands, we’re inevitably searching for a towel with which to dry them, particularly in the kitchen. They get taken from their usual spot, hanging on the stove handle, and are used for any number of purposes. These days it’s a blanket for her buddy.
A while ago, A asked if we could get something that we could attach to the stove and my mind instantly popped to a link I’d pinned on Pinterest! It’s a pattern to adapt a normal hand towel into one that has a handle that loops over the oven handle and fastens.
I had fabric leftover from cushions I’d made for the living room.  I picked up a hand towel for only a few dollars at Walmart in a vibrant yellow that coordinated with my fabric. It took me a few days to make it, as I had to work around the kids napping schedules, but I’m really pleased with the results! My 30 year old Singer had some trouble with the final stitching that attached the towel to the handle, since it ended up being quite thick with all the layers (flannelette is used to add a bit of stiffness to the outside layers) and yo can see it’s a bit wonky where it was trying to get a grip, but I went slow and didn’t push the machine. I’m not the best seamstress in the world but I can hold my own I think. DSC_8007 copy (848x1280)
The button I chose was one from the box of buttons I have that holds the extra buttons, threads etc from clothes I buy that come with extras. It’s from a coat I bought years ago and don’t wear much anymore….I probably need a good closet overhaul but that’s a can of worms I don’t want to open right now.  DSC_8006 copy (1280x848) (2)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

