Skip to content

Oh Sleep

July 31, 2014

Oliver is full on on the midst of the famed four-month sleep regression. According to the Wonder Weeks app, it’s around this time that a major developmental leap occurs and it wreaks havoc on infant sleep cycles. Add teething to the mix and we are having good times! (Infer sarcasm).
Though I understand the whys of it, I’m finding it a lot more difficult this time around, probably because Molly never went through a regression at four months (hers was at eight months).

He’s waking 2-3 times a night and naps during the day are ridiculous, with him finally falling asleep after a struggle and only sleeping for 15-30 minutes. I’m trying to be consistent with his routine, but he’s not making it easy. He refuses to settle with A right now, so it’s all on me.

The lack of sleep is affecting me more with two kids than it did with one (for obvious reasons) and it has me considering measures I don’t even believe in! Sleep training has been on my mind but I don’t believe in that for babies this young; I wasn’t comfortable doing it with Molly until she was 14 months! I’ve also contemplated introducing cereal which goes against my beliefs on two levels: I don’t plan on giving cereal at all nor do I want to introduce solids before six months. What’s a mom to do?

Sigh. Get through as best I can, that’s what. I’ve been in this place before, feeling frustrated that there’s no end in sight but having raised a baby this age before, I know that things will change. That knowledge is keeping me going.
I’m hoping that with the end of this leap coming up in a couple of weeks that he will settle back into good sleep patterns again. In the meantime, I’ll fondly look back on the two days that he slept for 10 hours straight and remember that he is capable of doing it.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2014 10:02 am

    Remembering these hard phases with G and knowing that things will get better is what keeps me going every day.

    I hope the sleep regression ends soon!

  2. August 4, 2014 3:59 pm

    Ugh! So hard. Hang in there, mama!!! Post more pictures of your adorable kiddos 🙂

  3. August 5, 2014 9:45 pm

    Hugs. Timothy never had any sleep regressions, he always slept. Zachary… well, he was always the night terror, but when he hit 4 months – OH! MY! GOD! He woke up every 1.5 hours for about 3 or 4 weeks. That was HELL.

    Now he is teething. SO I am giving him advil. And life is quite good. Well, in comparison…

    Hang in there!!!

Leave a Reply

