Skip to content

Sleep? Who needs sleep?!

July 12, 2014

Greetings from 4:37am! This is the….fourth? No, fifth time I think that Oliver has been up tonight. I’ve lost track.
It was just a few weeks ago that he slept through the whole night. One glorious night. But it was rather short-lived. His sleep patterns have spiralled over the past few days, with him waking every 1-2 hours. I don’t think he was up this frequently even as a newborn! I can handle him waking once a night, It’s normal for babies to wake, but this is crazy! To say I’m sleep deprived is an understatement.

It could be because any number of things: discomfort from being sick, growth spurt or maybe the dreaded four-month sleep regression (he’ll be four months on the 21st). Who knows!

I’m trying not to do anything differently when he wakes: I give him a chance to go back to sleep. Sometimes this works, sometimes not. I can recognize an “I’m resettling” cry vs a “get me now dammit” cry. I get up, use the loo if necessary, turn on the TV (no sound, just for light), make sure I have my iPhone (what did moms do before smartphones??) , grab the baby, settle into the rocking chair, nurse, re-swaddle and then put him back to bed once he’s asleep. If he doesn’t want to nurse I’ll rock him back to sleep. It’s usually a half hour process either way; I’m kicking ass on Candy Crush Saga!

Despite being so tired, at this point I’m not comfortable crying it out or denying him feedings just to get him to sleep. He obviously needs something if he’s waking this frequently and I’m going to try and fulfill that need. As much as I’d love sleep, that comes first with me (no judgement for those who choose a different path).

It’s hard though, since it’s mostly all on me with the nursing. I wake A to swaddle (I suck at it) and will occasionally ask him to get up to comfort him first before I try nursing but 9 times out of 10 Oliver ends up wanting to feed and just gets more agitated at being made to wait. Nursing lying down isn’t comfortable so that’s out. Same with co-sleeping; the idea terrifies me! I’m not interested in pumping so A can give a bottle nor do I want to give formula.

So my only real option is to just suck it up! It won’t last forever and most days I can nap. And there’s always coffee, which I’m limiting to two cups a day. (I’ve been drinking it since he was born. It’s not the issue).

Good times here at our casa! Good times 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

