Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

July 11, 2014

On HFMD…

Or the devils disease as I’m calling it. Ugh. Hand, foot and mouth disease made an appearance at Molly’s daycare last week and she unfortunately contracted it. It’s not a serious illness but extremely contagious and uncomfortable for those who get it and all of us got it in one form or another. Luckily it’s very mild in adults or I’m not sure how we would have survived the week. As it is, I’m wiped. Poor Oliver had it the worst with a fever for two days and blisters in his mouth. He was miserable and I swear didn’t stop crying all of Tuesday and Wednesday. It’s been physically and emotionally taxing on us all but we’re on the mend!

On Oliver…

All that nasty illness business aside, Oliver had an exciting week! He rolled over on Monday, back to front. I had put him down on the floor, a rare thing with Molly traipsing all over the place, but she was outside so I took advantage. I started getting dinner ready and while I couldn’t see him, I could hear him and finally glance over when I heard him grunting. He had turned 90 degrees and was 3/4 of the way over! It took him a few more tries, and a little ‘push’ here and there from his sister, but he finally made it on his own. My baby is growing up!

On Molly…

Speaking of babies growing up, in less than a month Molly will be two! How is that possible? I’m noticing big changes in her lately. She’s really into possession, though not in a selfish way , more like identifying what belongs to whom (Mommy’s plate, Daddy’s plate, Molly’s plate etc). She also understands the concept of turns (I focus on turns when it comes to playing with others rather than sharing) and is finally grasping consequences, which makes discipline a lot easier.
I’ve been using the 1,2,3 method where I explain that I’m going to count to three and ask her to do/change something and if she hasn’t done it by the time I get to three then the appropriate consequence to the circumstance will take place (ie. if you don’t take your markers back to the table I’ll put them away). We like this approach because it gives her the chance to choose the correct behaviour. So far she’s making the right choice though only after I’ve counted to two šŸ™‚
I’m also putting her in a short time out on the couch or in her room for more serious offences like biting and hitting. There are no warnings there. I ask her to apologize using the offence in the apology so it’s not just a cursory ‘sorry’.
Just this week she’s been showing some terrible two behaviour by throwing herself on the floor (which we ignore while trying not to laugh), but overall she’s a great kid! Lots of fun ahead!
We aren’t going crazy with her second birthday. Having family over for a BBQ and that’s it. I can’t fathom planing anything larger right now. Not with a baby to contend with!

On Me…

Who’s me? Oh right. That haggard looking woman I see in the mirror. ME has taken backstage over the past week with a sick family. I’m happy to say though that aside from indulging in pizza last weekend, I’ve been dairy free for almost two weeks! And I haven’t let the craziness of the week be an excuse to eat badly. We’ve had take out more than I would like but nothing too horrible.
Once we’ve had a chance to regroup, I’m going to focus a bit more on trying to exercise and hopefully start getting massages again. Carrying around a 17 pound baby almost 24/7 has taken a toll (he’s not a fan of slings/wraps and neither am I…too hot!).

I have more to share, I’m sure, but it’s 10:30pm and my little man is almost done nursing. I want to go to bed šŸ™‚

Here’s my kiddos! Molly wanted to ‘hold it’ haha!

20140711-223133-81093481.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

