Skip to content

A Moo Point

July 3, 2014

Well friends, I’m here to report that I’ve been dairy free for 72 hours now.

It sucks.

Let me explain. On Monday we took the kids to the doctor. Molly had a rash, which is most likely the reaction to a new sunscreen I tried on her. And Oliver, well, Oliver has stinky toots. Really, really stinky toots. Toots that shouldn’t smell like that considering he’s exclusively breastfed; toots that cause him discomfort.

The doctors prognosis? A possible intolerance to the proteins in cow dairy. Solution? Cut out the main sources of cow dairy: milk, cheese, yogurt, BUTTER! Oh god, butter. Basically I need to cut out all that is right and good in the world.

I sound dramatic, but if you take a good look at my diet, you’ll find, even on Weight Watchers, that some form of cow dairy is present at all my meals. It’s incredibly hard for me to think outside the milk carton and not reach for the cheese grater, which is why I failed at going dairy free a couple of months ago when Oliver’s reflux was really bad. I didn’t even last 24 hours that time.

That attempt though, wasn’t at the request of my doctor. It’s a bit easier doing it this time around on her ‘orders’. It’s even easier when I consider that it’ll further ease Oliver’s tummy discomforts. His reflux hardly bothers him at all anymore but his toots still do. I hate seeing my baby boy uncomfortable.

Despite my complaining, It hasn’t been too bad. I was sad about skipping pizza night last night, but have otherwise adapted fairly well. Luckily goat cheese is still up for grabs; I put it on my spaghetti tonight rather than Parmesan and it was amazing! And I’m not being too picky about products made with cow dairy. I don’t eat a lot of packaged or prepared foods, so the amount of dairy from those sources that I’m ingesting is minimal. I’ll give it a week or two and see how Oliver is reacting to this change. If it’s good I’ll keep it up, but if there’s no difference I’ll introduce it back in.

Who knows, maybe it’ll help me lose the last 10 pounds I want to drop!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2014 8:24 pm

    I am also cow dairy free since I suspect it bothers Zachary. Turns out you can leave without it! There’s goat milk, goat milk sour cream, goat yogurt and even goat milk ice-cream (which is amazingly good, really!!!!)

    There’s also all the soy and almond and coconut stuff, but it’s not nearly that good.

    I found all the goat stuff in a big health food store nearby.

    • July 13, 2014 9:46 pm

      Goat yogurt, no way! I’ve read about coconut yogurt..maybe a health store would have that (I picked up coconut bliss ice cream which is amazing). If only there was a whole foods near me!

      • July 19, 2014 11:04 am

        the store that sells all the goat milk goodness is a big non-chain store that sells all sorts of natural drugs, foods, etc. There’s bound to be one in Burlington 🙂

Leave a Reply

