Skip to content

DIY Monogram Front Door Wreath

June 17, 2014

I’ve been wanting to make a wreath for our front door for quite some time. But when I brought up the idea with A, he rhymed off half a dozen reasons why it wasn’t a good idea, some of which did make sense, darn it (ie. getting in the way of bringing the kids in), so I let it go for awhile.
Weeks later though, I couldn’t get the idea out of my head, so I told him I would give it a try and if he really didn’t like it we could take it down.

I was originally inspired by this wreath I found on Pinterest. It’s a bit fussy for my taste in terms of flowers though, so I made different choices, taming it down a bit. I love the neutral look with the pop of colour!

20140617-192707-70027134.jpg

Supplies:
Grapevine wreath ($4.99 at Michaels)
Two bunches of Fake flowers ($6.99 per bunch, marked down 40% at Michaels)
Burlap ribbon ($5.99 at Michaels)
Wood letter ($1.50 at Walmart)
Acrylic paint ($1.50 at Walmart)
Thin wire
Wire cutters
Fishing line

I started by painting the M I bought at Walmart. Two coats of the yellow acrylic paint were needed. Then I set about making the bow. I used this site for instructions. Once that was done, I used wire cutters to cut off the long stems of the flower bunches and using all the components, decided where everything would fit on the grapevine wreath.

20140617-193533-70533261.jpg

Because I didn’t want bits and pieces falling off and blowing away, I decided to affix the flowers and bow using thin wire and used fishing line to attach huge M rather than glue everything on.

20140617-193703-70623964.jpg

I adore the end result! A is ambivalent, as most men are when it comes to decorating. Fingers crossed it doesn’t get in the way of everyday life or else I’ll have to find another spot for it!

20140617-193758-70678093.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2014 8:43 pm

    Love this! So cute 🙂

  2. June 18, 2014 9:01 pm

    Great work! I would like to do one for our door. Someday…

    I’m a big DIY-er and am always so proud. And B says, “that’s nice.”. I just did Bryson’s cake topper, and he was finally impressed. I credit the plane on it! Ha!

Leave a Reply

