Skip to content

Open-Faced Parmesan Avocado Egg Salad Sandwich

June 11, 2014

I think it was while on maternity leave with Molly that I raved about the Curry Avocado Egg Salad Sandwich I had discovered. It’s still one of my favourites and open-faced, using one slice of bread instead of two, it fits within my allotted weight watchers points for lunch (I have 40 in total and tend to use 10 for lunch). But now and then I like to switch things up. I love the combination of egg and avocado and started to wonder what other flavours would compliment it. I considered spices but seeing as I’m a huge cheese lover, my mind wandered in that direction.

On a recent trip to Costco I picked up a container of Parmesan petals. I use them for a variety of things, since a small amount packs a punch of flavour. I decided to add them to the egg-avocado mix and see what happened.
The result? Amazing! And the fact that I baked it to melt the cheese? Heaven.

Here are the details:

Open-Faced Parmesan Avocado Egg Salad Sandwich

1 egg
1/2 ripe avocado, mashed
1/8 cup Parmesan petals
1 tbsp miracle whip
Salt and pepper to taste
1 slice bread, your choice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Whisk egg in a microwave safe dish and cook until done. I zap it for 30 seconds, whisk it again and cook for another 20 seconds. Using a fork, break up the egg. Add the mashed avocado, miracle whip and salt and pepper and mix until blended. Add half the Parmesan and mix.

Place the slice of bread on a baking sheet (I use Dempster’s 12 Grain, partly for the flavour and partly because they sell it in bulk at Costco). Spread the egg mixture on the bread. Top with the remaining Parmesan.
Bake until cheese is melted on top, almost 10 minutes and enjoy!

20140611-133153-48713708.jpg

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2014 4:19 pm

    This looks friggin’ amazing!! I wish I had an avocado because I just boiled a eggs for a spinach salad (which I thought was what I wanted but it totally wasn’t.) I pinned this so I can come back to it and make it.

    • June 11, 2014 7:36 pm

      Thanks! Today was my second day making it, that’s how much I love it!
      I hate when you think you want something then don’t. Nothing worse than being disappointed by food!

Leave a Reply

