Skip to content

Let’s Talk Toilet

February 26, 2014

We have started the grand adventure of potty training. Or potty learning. Whatever the hip and cool term is to use these days, there is a lot of toilet talk happening in our lives right now! It’s been on our radar for quite sometime that Molly is gearing up to start using the potty. A couple of months ago she started indicating to us when she went poop in her diaper. So we pulled out the potty insert for the toilet and started showing it to her. At first she expressed zero interest in actually getting on it, and we didn’t push the matter. We would ask before bath if she wanted to get on it, and she would usually decline.

But then, a couple of weeks ago, all of a sudden, she was desperate to not only set up the potty, but get on it (fully clothed) and insist on having some toilet paper to shove down into it.

It was adorable.

IMG_1308

Just look at my big girl!! Since then, most days requires the potty to be set up at least once (and sometimes in both bathrooms on the top floor) and we’ve started putting her on it naked to see what happens. So far nothing. What’s important is that she’s starting to understand what her feelings are when she needs to ‘go’ and that the toilet isn’t something to be afraid of.

We’re kind of letting Molly take the lead at this point. A slow momentum suits me just fine. With me being almost 9 months pregnant and a newborn on the way, the last thing I want to worry about is having to rush to the bathroom with her to avoid accidents. If we don’t start to potty train in earnest for another few months, closer to when she’s two,  I’m ok with that. She is only 18 months and her world is about to change with the introduction of her little brother after all. I want to minimize the disruption as much as possible.

I’m also keen on waiting a bit because of an article I read recently. In it, a doctor describes his experiences with kids who are potty trained too early. He sees a lot of bladder infections and constipation as a result, because the child is too young to understand you shouldn’t hold it. And what toddler do you now who wants to take time out from playing to use the potty? I’m not saying I think he’s 100% correct; I think every child is different. But when we embark on something,  I like to understand the pros and cons, the good and the bad and thought this was something to take into consideration.

But who knows! Our child is stubborn and head strung and has pretty much completed milestones of her own accord since birth. I may be potty training whether I’m ready or not!

So that’s where we sit (ha!) with the toilet right now. As with everything, it’s all about doing what’s right for you and your family 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2014 11:06 am

    Potty training is something we’re trying to wrap our heads around too. We have a little potty for Isla and she’s even gone on it once, but I don’t think she quite understands the concept of what “going pee in the potty” means. We’re in no big rush, really, so there’s no point in making it a stressful venture!

  2. jesicabrennan permalink
    February 27, 2014 3:50 pm

    Ugh potty training, I’m not looking forward to this adventure!

    • February 27, 2014 5:09 pm

      I know, It is daunting. How will I remember to constantly ask if she needs to go? I have trouble remembering to go myself sometimes! Sigh.

Leave a Reply

