Skip to content

Big Sister Preparedness

February 25, 2014

I’m constantly being asked if Molly knows she’s about to become a big sister. My answer? No. She has absolutely no clue.
Oh she’ll pat and kiss my belly and call it baby, but she doesn’t grasp that there’s an actual baby in there that will be coming out of mommy in just under two months. And she certainly has no idea how it’s going to affect her life.
I’m hoping that because she’s so little she won’t be too aware of the changes and will go with the flow. Still, there are things I’m doing to help her along, just in case she’s onto us!

  • I’m A Big Sister by Joanna Cole – I picked up this book a few months ago and we’ve been reading it to her. It talks about becoming a big sister and how the baby will act when it arrives. I substitute a bit when it talks about giving the baby a bottle (I’ll be nursing and don’t plan on using bottles) but it’s really quite sweet. I tear up ever time it talks about how special the big sister is. She sits through the whole story, so that’s a bonus.
  • Introduce a baby doll – A’s parents got her a baby doll for Christmas and I’ve been trying to show her how to be gentle and that the baby will sleep and cry and eat. It’s pretty funny when she gives the baby a kiss then throws it into the toy cradle.
  • Simply talk to her – I talk about her brother coming and mention his name. When she plays with all the baby stuff we’re getting out I explain that’s for her brother and show how it’ll be used. I also try and explain, when she sees me topless and points to my breasts, that mommy will be feeding baby with those things. We weaned not long ago so she may understand that one. Funny side story: a month or so ago I was sorting through the laundry, au natural, and she comes running up to me, mouth open, ready to latch on! Haha. Instinct is a powerful thing!
  • A big sister gift – I’m not sure exactly how much she understands about recieving gifts, but we’ll get her  a present from the baby to receive at the hospital when she meets him.

And that’s really it. I know there are gads and gads of ideas and suggestions our there, but our reality is she’s only 18 months old. Something I say or do today could be lost on her tomorrow. We’ll basically be winging it, which is 99% of what parenting is anyways!

The one thing I’m not sure about is whether to bring her to the hospital to meet the baby. When I had the stomach bug and was in labour and delivery, I heard a dad bring a big brother to meet his new sibling. It was all happy at first but when they went to leave, the poor little guy got so upset and was yelling for his mommy as they left. I’m not sure I can handle putting Molly through that. Since I’m hoping to be out of the hospital as soon as possible, I might just wait for the introduction to happen at home. Ach. Another thing to decide at the time rather than now. DSC_7080 (1280x1024)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2014 10:48 am

    Timothy is 2 and he still has no clue. there’s no way to prepare for a “brother”.

    But we expose him to babies – and we really love the way he reacts. Kissing, hugging, singing to babies. And constantly trying to share his snacks with them 🙂

    I think the reaction you heard in the hospital was probably from a non-daycare baby. I mean Timothy goes to daycare every day and happily waves bye-bye to me, so I don’t expect waving bye-bye in the hospital will be any different.

    • February 25, 2014 11:59 am

      You may be right about the day care kid thing. Molly is usually ok saying good bye to me in the mornings, though that’s at home (hubby drops her at day care).

  2. February 25, 2014 11:46 am

    When the time comes for our family, I’m really curious to see how Isla would react to another baby in the house. A friend of mine has an 12-week old, and she’s an absolute angel with him, which makes me want to believe she’ll be an awesome big sister one day. I like the idea of giving her a “baby” of her own to take care of – I believe my parents did the same for me when my brother was born. (There’s a photo somewhere of me sitting beside my mom while she’s nursing and I’m doing the same with my doll, lol)

    As far as having Molly visit her new brother in the hospital – I think her reaction would have to do a lot with how she already reacts to leaving you. If she’s good with separation now, I don’t think coming for a visit then leaving would be too big of a deal. Isla is pretty independent and I can leave for a few days and when I come back she doesn’t react any different than if I were gone an hour.

    • February 27, 2014 7:31 am

      It’s probably me who’ll have the bad reaction being away from her haha! She probably won’t care. The other day I met hubby and Molly at my moms for dinner. She came running to me, after not seeing me the entire day. I was all prepared for a kiss when she stops, looks up at me and says “Poppy?” She was more excited to find out if my dad was home yet lol!

Leave a Reply

