Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

February 14, 2014

On Molly…

Miss Molly had her 18 month check up on Monday! She got the last of her vaccinations until she goes to school. I can’t believe we’re at that point already. She weighs 23 lbs and is in the 55th percentile for weight. Height though, she’s in the 97th percentile at 34 inches tall! Tall and slim, our girl. She’s meeting all the milestones on my doctor’s list and is generally in good health. She does have fluid in her right ear though, which we need to watch. Easy target for an ear infection. If she continues to get ear infections, we may need to consider tubes. But I’m hoping that with spring just around the corner, we won’t be as sick as much and the infections will ease up.

On the Baby…

34 weeks today! Six weeks until my due date and it’s scary that women on my pregnancy forum are already starting to have their babies. Others are already starting natural induction attempts. Personally, I’m waiting until the bitter end (aka my due date) to try anything. I’d rather he be over due to be honest. The longer they cook, the better! Of course it’s out of my hands. If he arrives early, he arrives early.
I’ve been having some intense Braxton hicks contractions. More than just my usual instant tightening. The other night I was feeling the pressure build and then ease in my lower abdomen, just like I did when in early labour with Molly. They eased after a bit, once I had some water and laid down.

On Me…

I’m sick. Again. This time with a head cold. It’s been lingering for over a week now. It’s not getting worse but it’s no better. I’m functional but oh so tired.
The tired is causing an immense amount of mom guilt. After working all day and sometimes not even seeing Molly in the morning before I leave, there’s nothing I want more than to spend time with her when I get home. But I’m so wiped out, all I can do is sit and let her crawl all over me. It’s frustrating and I feel horrible about it. Just four more weeks of work (12 working days!!) and then I have a whole year off to spend with my kiddies.

On Oil Pulling…

Have any of you heard of this? Tried it? It’s the process of cleaning your teeth by swishing a couple of tablespoons of oil around in your mouth for 20 minutes. Apparently it’s supposed to help repair the enamel, remove plaque and toxins, heal cavities and whiten your teeth. I’ve read that some people do it exclusively and not brigs their teeth at all whole others combine the two techniques. I’m considering trying it using coconut oil once the baby is born. They don’t recommend starting it while pregnant because of the toxins it draws out.

On Valentines Day….

We don’t have any big plans for V day. Our wedding anniversary is in a couple of weeks and we’ll be going out for dinner for that. But we do hope to try and make it to a movie this weekend. I really want to see Monument Men and since it takes place during WWII, A is on board!

Happy Valentines Day!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

