Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

January 3, 2014

On it’s F-ing Cold Here…

It’s -38 degrees Celsius here in Toronto this morning (with the wind chill). For you American peeps, just to put things in perspective to Fahrenheit, it’s at -40 degrees where Celsius and Fahrenheit are the same temperature. It was cold yesterday too but I had no appointment and was able to stay home with Molly. This morning though I have my OB appointment and had to bundle us up to go out. It was cold enough that Molly actually kept her hat and hood up in the car!

On A Tough Week…

I had a bit of a scare on Monday. I was carrying Molly downstairs and my foot slipped and we both went tumbling down. It was so fast I don’t even know what happened. I managed to grab Molly’s leg before she hit the floor too hard but she still ended up with a black eye. I landed on my bum and now have the biggest bruise ever. If it wasn’t my bum, I’d post a picture. It scared the shit out of me. We cried, the two of us and I hysterically called A to come home. Luckily my sister was at my moms so she came over to stay with me until he got there. And just to be on the safe side, we went to labour and delivery to make sure the baby was ok. Despite falling on my bum, it was quite jarring and I wanted to make sure he wasn’t too jostled. They monitored me for a few hours and his heart beat was perfect. I had no contractions and no bleeding or other fluid leaking out. My blood work was great and so they sent me home. Whew!
I swear, parenting is going to give me post traumatic stress disorder. I was so scared for Molly and the baby.

On Christmas…

We had a good Christmas vacation. It would have been great but we all ended up sick. Again. Molly had another ear infection, I ended up with a sinus infection and A had a good old fashioned cold. Still, we had a lovely and relaxing time at my sister’s family cottage (her hubby’s family) and then with A’s family. Here are a few pics:

DSC_6862 copy DSC_6868 copy DSC_6946 copy DSC_6967 copy DSC_6985 copy DSC_7002 copy DSC_7014 copy DSC_7016 copy

On New Years…

I confess, I was in bed and asleep by 9:30 on New Year’s Eve. I was achy from my fall and, well, I’m pregnant, so there’s all the excuse I need! A came up and woke me a few minutes to midnight though and we rang in the New Year together. That’s really all I needed. As far as resolutions go, I’m not making any. I have to be realistic. I’m about to have another baby and will be a stay at home mom to two kids for a year come the middle of March. I’ll do what I can when I can but I’m not going to make myself any promises and end up being disappointed about not keeping them. I am looking forward to 2014 though; lots of change and excitement coming our way 🙂

I hope everyone had a lovely holiday season! Back to work for me on Tuesday. Oh and did I mention it’s my birthday tomorrow? 36. Wow.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2014 2:28 am

    Happy belated birthday! What a scare but glad everyone is ok. 2014 is going to be amazing!!

  2. January 5, 2014 1:02 pm

    Happy New Year!
    Ah, we had a nice xmas break, too – and right after it we all three got sick, too – and we also went to bed early on new year’s eve… Pregnant, sick as a puppy, completely miserable. We’re still sick!!! Beware, there’s this very bad virus making rounds. It starts out of the blue with you coughing up mucus. I mean, what kind of virus starts like that? Aren’t you supposed to have a running nose for a while, get all the mucus accumulated and then start coughing it up? Apparently, not. 9 days later, still sick 😦

    Get well and take good care of yourself. I’m glad the fall wasn’t as bad…

    • January 6, 2014 3:17 pm

      Thanks hon! My doctor says it’s my low pregnancy immunity that’s keeping the bugs around. Ugh. I’m glad the baby is ok but jeez! Mama needs some rest!
      Hope you guys are on the mend soon!

  3. January 5, 2014 7:09 pm

    Ouch! I’m glad you’re ALL ok!

    what a beautiful family cabin and setting!

Leave a Reply

