Skip to content

It’s A….

November 5, 2013

We had our 20 week ultrasound this morning! This is the big one, where all parts of the baby are photographed and measured in order to get an accurate picture of how well baby is developing. It’s also the one where, if baby cooperates, we find out the gender!

A and I dropped Molly off at my mom’s this morning and headed to the healthcare centre (we go to a different ultrasound place than at my doctors office. Bad memories from the one there, as that’s where I found out about our miscarriage and they weren’t exactly nice about it: “sorry about that” the tech said).
We arrived, I checked in and a few short minutes later I was in the room in a paper gown! I never drink as much water as they recommend, so my bladder was nicely full but not uncomfortably so.
I was thrilled to have the tech I really like. She’s super friendly and talks to you during the exam. She pointed out the various parts (so amazing, it will never get old) and had different anecdotes about positions of other babies. Our little one was wiggling around like crazy, so after about a half hour, we decided I could use the bathroom and move a bit to try and shift the baby’s location. When I got back A was there. I got back on the bed and we started up again. Thankfully baby cooperated and moved as the tech needed to get a complete report.
The full report will go to my doctor, whom I see on Monday, but I do know that I’m measuring ahead by almost a week. It was the same with Molly. Baby was 13 oz and long! I’m guessing I’ll have another close to 9 pounder if I go past my due date!
Once we had a complete ‘tour’ as the tech called it, we moved on to the exciting part…

“Do you have an idea as to what you’re having?” She asked

“Sort of. I’m thinking boy, probably because we already have a girl” I answered “My niece thinks boy and she’s a bit psychic, but then she has a brother and that’s all she knows”

“Well it looks like your niece is right! See that thing sticking out? That’s blue for sure!”

Eeeeee! We’re having a boy!! We are over the moon excited. We would have loved a girl, absolutely with no question, but we both wanted the experience of having both, especially A. I’m a bit sad about all of the girl clothes I have from Molly, but I’m sure I’ll find a good home for them when the time is right (I’ll hold onto them for now, just in case. The umbilical cord was off to the side but you never know!). I’m thankful we buy mostly gender neutral toys.
We’re pretty sure about the name, but I’m not going to reveal it quite yet 😉

Overall we’re happy the baby is healthy but guys, I’m going to have a son! Yay!

20131105-170504.jpg

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2013 5:13 pm

    Congratulations! Boys are so fun! I never wanted boys until I was told matthew was a boy, and since then, they’re all I want. Ha! Can’t wait to hear the name!

  2. November 5, 2013 5:34 pm

    Yay for a boy!!! One of each 🙂

  3. November 5, 2013 6:53 pm

    Yay!!!!

  4. November 5, 2013 9:10 pm

    boys are awesome!
    congrats 🙂

  5. November 5, 2013 9:11 pm

    Congratulations! I knew all along that I was having a boy, and when he was born I was right (we kept the sex a surprise). Little boys are a blast!

  6. November 6, 2013 11:27 am

    So exciting – Congratulations!!! It will be fun to be able to “experience” a boy after having Molly, and in my personal experience, having a younger brother is a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

