Skip to content

17 Weeks – Baby #2

October 20, 2013

How Far Along? – 17 Weeks

Size of Baby – About the size of a turnip, around 5 inches crown to rump and 5 oz in weight 🙂

Gender – Our anatomy ultrasound is booked for November 5th so here’s hoping that a) baby cooperates and b) we have a tech who is ok to bend the rules and tell us (their policy is to not tell, but last time rather than say boy or girl, our tech said ‘team pink’).

Picture

17 Weeks baby #2 (1024x1280)

Maternity Clothes – I definitely need to find the time to pick up a few more things. I need more casual pants (my casual pants from my last pregnancy are capris) and long sleeve tops. I also need a winter jacket. Because I’m often on the train platform (coldest place on earth) and I’m going to be super pregnant through the entirety of an Ontario winter, I need something that fits well and is warm. Maybe I’ll shop online and hope for the best?

Stretch Marks – No more than what I already had (which thank goodness weren’t that visibile)

Weight – Up two pounds. Six pounds total gained, which I think is pretty darned good. I think the two pound leap this week is because my boobs are starting to get bigger, a result of not nursing as much I’m guessing. Also, because I have no ligament pain, I’m able to move around and am more active than I was at this time with Molly.

Sleep – Actually pretty decent. I’m getting between 7-8 per night I think, on nights when Molly sleeps through

Movement – I’m feeling the wee one but not consistently. Maybe once or twice in a day.

Symptoms – I feel pretty good! No ligament pain, though I had a brief period of sciatic pain on Friday (too many stairs taken in the day)

Cravings – Nothing is really a ‘must have’ for me right now

What Do I Miss – I miss the first pregnancy bliss, where you can lie down when you want 🙂 Totally different story being pregnant with a 14 month old!

Nursery – Still gathering ideas, though haphazardly

Emotions – I’m grand! I didn’t have huge emotional swings when pregnant with Molly and it looks like I’m lucky to avoid them (so far) this pregnancy!

Best Moment of the Week – Hearing the baby’s heart beat for the first time! For whatever reason, at the other two ultrasounds I had, they showed me the HB but never played it. I’m at that point where I don’t particularly feel pregnant (other than my growing tummy) and you wonder what’s going on in there. The heart beat was incredibly reassuring!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

