Skip to content

An Early Remembrance Day

October 15, 2013

On our fireplace mantle at home, sits a beautiful Swarovski crystal butterfly. My husband (boyfriend at the time) and I picked out that butterfly together shortly after we miscarried our first baby, over two years ago. It was his idea actually, to get something to honour that short, precious life.

I’m astounded by how much I love him sometimes.

Some days I feel as if our miscarriage happened yesterday. And other days I feel so far removed from our loss that it’s hard to believe it ever happened. Luckily those days are more frequent than the former. But one thing I know: I will never, ever forget.

Neither will the countless other women and their families who have suffered similar tragedies.

Today is Pregnancy and Infant Loss Remembrance Day. Today, as I do on all days in one way or another, I remember the innocence of that first pregnancy and it’s early loss. But also today I remember that sometimes from incredible tragedy comes immense joy. As much as we wanted that baby, we wouldn’t have Molly if it had survived. And I can’t imagine a world without Molly.

To all of you out there remembering your own losses today, my thoughts are with you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 15, 2013 8:00 pm

    hugs

Leave a Reply

