Skip to content

A New Adventure!

September 19, 2013

If you missed yesterday’s post, then you missed our big announcement!

We are expecting baby #2!

I’ll be 13 weeks on Friday (funny enough my weekly changeover day for Molly too). I had an ultrasound at 7 weeks and another at 11 (had some lower abdominal pain) and all was well with both scans!
Symptom wise I’ve been lucky. Extreme fatigue is the worst thing I’ve dealt with. I had some morning sickness but it was more like evening/night sickness. It’s like my body recognized that working and caring for Molly while nauseous would be testing my limits!

We weren’t overly surprised when we found out, but I will admit I expected it to take longer. We weren’t officially trying but threw caution to the wind one day and, well, I guess the wind was pretty strong 🙂
I found out the week before I went back to work (and I’ve done the math. It’ll be close but I’ll have enough hours to qualify for maternity leave again). I randomly decided to take a test, suspecting something was up. It was four days before my period was due and I wasn’t really expecting a positive result. So when a second pink line showed up, though quite faint, I was a bit stunned. Hubby flat out didn’t believe me. Or rather he was skeptical about how positive the faint line was. I tried to convince him but it wasn’t until I showed my sister a picture of the test and she got excited that he finally believed it 😉
Once I picked up a digital test and the words ‘pregnant’ popped up, we were both believers.

Molly and this wee one will be around 20 months apart. Two under two! Genius? Crazy? Probably a lot of both. I will say though that we’re happy to be getting the diaper phase over with sooner rather than later. We aren’t planning on having any more, and we look forward to seeing our children grow.

Children. I still can’t believe it!

Being pregnant when you’ve already had a baby is weird. It’s not as novel, more of a been there, done that kind of feeling. I often forget there’s a bun cooking away in my oven! Having Molly to focus on has helped keep negative thoughts about all the things that could go wrong away. Despite having had a healthy pregnancy and a healthy baby, the fear of miscarriage is still there.

And so here we are about to start a new chapter in our lives. As with the rest of our relationship, A and I don’t waste any time, do we? Our little threesome is going to become four and we couldn’t be happier!

Side note: I’m hoping to do weekly updates like I did with Molly, complete with pics (my belly is already starting to show), but first we have our trip to Newfoundland! Stay tuned!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2013 12:40 pm

    yayayayayay!

    I totally agree, this time around I often forget I’m pregnant since I’m chasing G around. It’s a good distraction though. I’m sure if I wasn’t chasing a baby around I’d be analyzing every little thing happening to me! After being extremely anxious with G, it’s kind of nice to be more calm 🙂

  2. September 20, 2013 11:34 am

    CONGRATS!!!
    I’m 15 weeks pregnant now (my weekly changeover from week to week also matches the first pregnancy 🙂
    We also weren’t trying but just stopped preventing getting pregnant – and also didn’t expect anything to happen, really 🙂 Timothy and baby #2 will be 25 months apart.

    On exhaustion: I was fighting RIDICULOUS fatigue, and it turned out my iron was low AND it turns out you can get iron in liquid form (sort of like disgusting tasting mineral water) that doesn’t get you constipated! And it made me feel WAY better after the very first doze. You can get it in any natural supplements store.

    • September 20, 2013 12:53 pm

      Yay! Congrats back at ya! Excellent iron tip. I had low iron before but my supplements are too harsh while pregnant. I’ll have to give the liquid a try!

Leave a Reply

