Skip to content

Friday Ramblings (on Saturday)

August 24, 2013

On Molly…

Where to start?! Our little munchkins personality is shining through more and more each day! My favourite quirk of hers at the moment is that whenever she falls or drops something or even when we prevent her from doing something, we’re treated with a “Pffft”. It’s hilarious! Also hilarious is that we seem to have a jokester on our hands. Last night I was lying on the floor. Molly came on over, bent down, pulled up my shirt exposing my tummy and proceeded to blow raspberries and rub her face on my stomach…just like daddy does to her!

On Night Weaning…

My personal philosophy regarding sleeping through the night is that babies will do it as they’re developmentally ready to. Molly is still up one or two times a night to nurse, though in the past week she’s slept the whole night through three times! Hopefully she’s on her way to doing that more often.
That being said, I’m preparing to help things along a little and here’s why: I’m exhausted. Being up in the night on days when I’m working is wearing me down. I was off work for two days this week because I had that “hit by a truck” feeling. I need better nights sleep.
Since Molly is over a year now, and since I’m still not 100% sold on letting her cry, I’m going to give night weaning a try.
I’m going with the time delay method, where you start with a time, lets say midnight, and for a few days don’t nurse before that time (not including her bedtime nurse). Then set the time back another hour, to 1am and not nurse before that time. I’ll gradually push the time back until we’re no longer nursing.
Last night was our first go at it and it went pretty well. She woke at 9:30. I held her and rocked her but didn’t nurse. She was quite upset for about 10 minutes but after a dose of Advil (just in case), she settled down and went back to sleep. And slept until 6am! I felt horrible denying her but really feel that this is the best thing for us right now. And I’ll just make sure to give her extra cuddles during the day when I’m home 🙂

Happy weekend everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

