Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up/Back To Work

July 23, 2013

Late Friday afternoon, once A got home from work, we packed ourselves up and made the trip up north to BFF B’s cottage. I love going up there! We have such a relaxing time and of course the company is top notch!
It was funny watching Molly interact with B’s son J. He’ll be five in a couple of weeks. He was intent on showing her his toys and reading her stories. So cute!
Happily the weather was perfect. Southern Ontario had quite the heat wave last week. It was horrible! But as nasty as they were, some storm systems that passed through on Friday afternoon helped clear the air and the temperatures were perfect!
We came home Sunday afternoon and vegged for the rest of the day.
Monday was A’s last day off for awhile. We ran a few errands and spent the day listening to the sounds of the landscapers at work in the backyard! They have the steps in already and will work on the rest today. Yay!

Now here I am, sitting on the train for the first time in a year. I’m heading into the city for my first day back at work. I’m feeling….ok. I thought I was feeling better than ok but I had a bit of a meltdown in the middle of the night. I was frustrated because Molly was waking as soon as I put her down and I was increasingly aware of 5:45 creeping up on me. My emotions got the better of me. It was bound to happen I suppose. After spending a whole year with my amazing little girl, it’s going to be an adjustment for me to not be with her.

Today my sister is watching her at our house. That’s reassuring. Tomorrow and Thursday she’ll go to day care. We visited last week and she jumped right into playing with the other kids, so I’m not overly concerned about her being there. We all just have to get used to this new schedule.

This will also be my first day not nursing her for an extended period of time. Almost 12 hours will pass before she nurses again. I’m not bothering to pump at work. We’ve started introducing milk and I’m hoping this will set the stage for weaning. I won’t quit cold turkey but over the next few months I’d like to see her feedings decrease. Her focus isn’t like it used to be and I’m feeling ready.

The train is about to pull up to Union Station. Time for my work day to begin!
Wish me luck!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2013 1:36 pm

    Good luck on your first day back! šŸ™‚

  2. July 28, 2013 9:38 pm

    Hope it weren’t well and can’t wait to hear more about the week. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

