Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

July 12, 2013

On The Baby…

Teething is in full force this week! Molly now has all four of her top middle teeth, in various stages of growth (hers came in left to right, which is weird). Her demeanour hasn’t been too bad. A little more clingy than normal and restless nights, but otherwise she’s great! She’s mastered (almost) blowing kisses, pulling a blanket up over her face to play Peek A Boo and high fives. She’s developed this grin where she scrunches up her nose. With her lopsided top teeth she kind if resembles a vampire. Or a hillbilly…

On First Words…

So here’s something that perplexes me. What is the definition of a first word? Is it making the same sound in reference to something over and over? Or is it the clear unmistakable word itself?
I’m tempted to go with the former and proclaim that Molly’s first word is cat. “Ca”, she says, without the T. But it’s definitely meant for our cat. All cats in fact. And some non-cats that to her look like cats 🙂

On TV…

Netflix Canada has released new shows! We’re currently immersed in Homeland S1 alternating with Lie To Me S1. Excellent shows!
I’m also addicted to watching the American Baking Competition and Master Chef (I swear, with all the food shows I watch, Molly’s going to be a chef). They definitely inspire me in the kitchen!

On Landscaping…

We’ve made the executive decision to hire a contractor to do the backyard patio for us. We were lucky to find someone who knows what they’re doing and who can have it done in time for Molly’s birthday party, which I’m planning on having in the backyard.

On Shopping…

Sigh. I need to go shopping for back to work clothes. I don’t think I need a whole lot but the prospect is daunting. I’m only six pounds above my pre-pregnancy weight, however my shape is most definitely different. It’ll be interesting to see how things fit!
I also need a new pair of shoes, which is a thousand times worse. I need something cute but comfortable enough to do a lot of walking in.
Wish me luck!

I hope everyone has a groovy weekend!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2013 3:19 pm

    I’m still a little stumped on the whole first word thing! Isla makes a lot of noises that kind of sound like words, but they’re really not defined. “Dada” is most definitely “dad,” but she says it all the time!

    • July 12, 2013 3:30 pm

      There was a girl on one of the forums I read who said her baby said 27 (precisely 27) words at 9 months!! And phrases too, like “I did it”. Not too many people believed her, obviously. But I suppose it could be the sounds thing and if said at the right time, well, if not a word than communication of some sort definitely.

  2. July 12, 2013 6:31 pm

    I loved Lie to Me and Homeland! Can’t wait for Homeland to come back on!

  3. July 13, 2013 9:56 am

    “Homeland” is awesomely addictive!! Enjoy:)

Leave a Reply

