Skip to content

Canada, Oh?

June 27, 2013

I’m participating in the Great Canadian Blog Bash this year! It runs from June 27 – July 11. Check out their website to link up with other Canadian blogs!

A few years ago (five I think? It was right before I turned 30. Geez), I went to California. The purpose was a business trip to San Francisco, but I have a couple of friends who live in Southern California and decided to make it a combination business/pleasure trip.

We had a blast! I stayed with my friend E, who at the time lived on the Balboa peninsula in Newport Beach. One night we found ourselves at a local club and met up with some of E’s friends. There was a guy with them, who had obviously had some drinks. When I travel, people love hearing that I’m Canadian and always have fun things to say about the Canadians they meet but this guy said something that has stuck with me ever since. A little mix up on our most famous Canadian trait!

Drunk Guy: You’re from Canada?
Me: Yup!
Drunk Guy: Oh?
Me: …?
Drunk Guy: OHHHHH?
Me: …?
Drunk Guy: …!
Me: Ohhhhh! You mean Eh?
Drink Guy: Ya, don’t you say that all the time?
Me: Sure. And we live in igloos too!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2013 11:06 am

    Happy Canada Day, oh? 🙂 (www.cookingdangerously.com #tgcbb)

  2. Patricia permalink
    June 28, 2013 11:57 am

    Cute… Happy Canada Day,

    Patricia, Sugar & Spice & All Things ? Nice

  3. June 29, 2013 7:48 am

    Yeah, eh, and we watch a lot of hockey too. Happy Canada Day!!

  4. whatiadore permalink
    July 2, 2013 8:37 am

    I remember those type of comments lol. Yes I have a polar bear living in my backyard and it’s always snowing here 🙂 *hugs*

  5. July 2, 2013 9:15 am

    haha that is so funny! thanks for linking up with us this year!

  6. July 3, 2013 2:59 am

    I used to live in Hong Kong, and one girl I met asked who was taking care of our sled dogs while we were away. The kicker? She was from Washington State, just across the border from BC.

  7. NPC permalink
    July 9, 2013 5:14 pm

    Igloos, eh? And with the polar bears dontcha know? LOL, hilarious post! Thanks for participating in The Great Canadian Blog Bash and we are very happy to have you! #TGCBB

  8. yashymurphy permalink
    July 10, 2013 8:56 am

    Oh and we ride moose and not cars 😉

Leave a Reply

