Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up

May 27, 2013

Our weekend began with a trip to the walk-in clinic.

Late Friday afternoon as I was changing Molly, I noticed a rash peeking through her top and her diaper. I took off her shirt and was shocked to see her entire torso, front and back, covered in a hive-like rash and it was spreading up her neck and to her arms. _DSC4827copy (1024x1280)

I had my suspicions as to the cause, but when A got home we took her to the doctor. He confirmed what I was thinking: it was a reaction to the antibiotics. Molly most likely has an allergy to penicillin! We’re lucky she didn’t have a more severe reaction. I’ll follow up with our family doctor as soon as I can but in the meantime on the doctors advice we’ve stopped the course of amoxicillin. He didn’t prescribe a replacement, but did check her ears and said they looked OK.
By Saturday night the rash was pretty much gone!

Saturday itself was decent. We met with the leasing agent at my car dealer (Nissan) to go over the options for when my lease is up in august. I think we’re leaning towards buying out my Sentra. We also test drove a Dodge Grand Caravan they had in their used car lot. It was an amazing deal and we considered buying it, since we will need a larger vehicle when #2 arrives (not quite yet) but decided to wait until next year.

We got home and A started work on landscaping the front while Molly and I planted the last of the veggies to go in, the tomatoes and peppers. I’m trying something new this year and planting marigolds around the perimeter of the gardens.

_DSC4847 (1280x848)

They’re supposed to help deter pests. Our little bunny is still making his presence known, so hopefully they work! Another bonus is that flowers attract bees and butterflies, whose presence encourages plants to fruit! I didn’t plant as many tomato and pepper plants as we have in years past. We’re learning as we go what kind of yield we can manage.

_DSC4850 (1280x848)

Another tip I came across was to plant basil next to tomatoes. It’s supposed to enhance the flavour of the tomatoes. We’ll see!

After that I rested. I wasn’t feeling well. It appears I’m next on the universe’s master sick plan and have come down with a massive head cold. We just can’t win these days!

Once Molly went to bed, A and I finished watching the History channel documentary “The History of the World in Two Hours” that was on TV Friday night. It was really fun! It was basically a look at all of the steps necessary for humans to evolve into who we are today as a species and as a civilization. They started with the creation of the universe 13.6 billion years ago and ended in modern times. I learned all of that in school (I have a BA in Archaeology), but it was a great refresher. How cool were we watching something educational on a Saturday night?

Sunday for me was spent resting and taking care of Molly while A worked out front. He got all of the stones down and it looks amazing! There’s a bit of tweaking to do (he discovered a dip near the back right, near the porch, which you can sort of see in the picture) and we need to put the garden back together, but I’m so happy with how it turned out! I’m so lucky to have a handy husband. The steps were originally centred to the porch, but A moved them to be centred with the door, which works much better I think, since the door isn’t centred on the porch either. My master plan is to put something potted to the right of the new steps which will hide the unattractive portion of the porch, and to put a bench or a cute little patio set (a couple of chairs and small table) along the soon-to-be garden wall.

_DSC4842 (1280x848)

And now it’s Monday. Because I’m sick, CJ has gone to her grandmother’s for the day and CK is home with my sister, who is off this week recovering from pneumonia (seriously, our family just can’t catch a break!). There’s no way I can look after more than one kid right now!

_DSC4839 copy (1280x848)

Cuddles with mama

I hope everyone had a lovely weekend!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 28, 2013 2:11 am

    Hope you feel better soon! So glad Molly’s reaction wasn’t worse and you figured it out!!

Leave a Reply

