Skip to content

Strawberry Upside Down Cakes

May 22, 2013

It ain’t the prettiest dessert on the block, but what this little cake lacks in style, it more than makes up for in taste! Cake, strawberries, chocolate chips…I really don’t need to elaborate do I?

_DSC4775 copy (848x1280)

I made this tasty treat this past Sunday when I was craving something cake-y. I was inspired by one of my mom’s long standing desserts, Strawberry Upside Down Cake, which she makes in a square baking dish. I thought to myself: why not try making individual portions in a muffin tin? Seriously brilliant idea, if I do say so myself!

Couple of notes: my mom’s recipe calls for frozen strawberries but I used fresh and they worked just fine. Her recipe also uses plain yogurt, which I didn’t have. I used sour cream instead and it worked really well!

Strawberry Upside Down Cakes

Makes 12 mini-cakes

Ingredients:

2 tbsp butter, melted

2/3 cup packed brown sugar

10-12 oz fresh strawberries

½ cup butter, softened

¾ cup sugar

2 eggs (room temperature)

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp orange rind or zest

1 ½ cup flour

1 ½ tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

¾ cup sour cream

½ cup chocolate chips

Instructions:

Melt butter and divide into muffin tin. You’ll end up with about a 1/2 tsp per cup. Sprinkle brown sugar over butter and pat down. Lay 2-3 berries over sugar (outside facing down). Set aside

In a large bowl, with electric mixer, cream butter. Gradually beat in sugar. Beat in eggs, vanilla and orange rind or zest.

In a separate bowl, mix together flour, baking powder and baking soda. Add to butter mixture alternatively with sour cream (3 additions of flour mix and 2 additions of sour cream). Stir until just combined. Stir in chocolate chips.

Spread batter over each muffin cup.

Bake 350 degrees F for 20-25 minutes or until cake springs back when touched. Loosen around the edges of the muffin cup and invert onto cooling rack. Serve with a dollop of whipped cream or ice cream.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 22, 2013 8:08 pm

    Om nom nom……

Leave a Reply

