Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

May 10, 2013

On the Baby..

All of a sudden, Molly gets solids. She was gung ho initially when we started at 6 months, but for the last couple of months she’s only shown mild interest in food. We haven’t forced it, following the principles of baby led weaning by offering it to her even if she doesn’t eat it (never have I used my green bin so much!). Looks like our patience paid off because she’s now extremely interested in most of what we put in front of her, which is small portions of what we eat. Spaghetti, enchiladas, Mac and beef casserole, Parmesan crusted chicken…she’s loving it!

This weekend we’re going to begin making some changes to how we get her to sleep. In addition to the reason I mention below, her sleep regression has lasted a bit too long for comfort and I believe some new habits have been formed. I’m exhausted and can’t function like this much longer. I’m reluctant to call this change sleep training. That term doesn’t sit well with me. Let’s just call it a change in our routine. I’m working on a separate post to cover how we’re hoping to make it happen (if we haven’t already by the time I get around to posting it).

Otherwise, she’s right as rain! She turned 9 months on Wednesday and had her well baby check on Monday. Because of being sick the week before, she lost a couple of ounces since her last appointment (my doctor is not concerned) and remains in the 50th percentile for weight. But she’s made up for it in height! 30 inches and off the charts! Long and lean, our girl is 🙂

On Back To Work…

I’m going to be honest and tell you that I was leaning towards not going back to work. Child care is expensive, transportation is expensive, and because I commute downtown, the time away from Molly just didn’t seem worth it. It would have been tight on one salary, but we would have made it work. I have A’s complete support on the issue and I can’t tell you how amazing that is!
But a few weeks ago, my boss called. We had talked about the possibility of part time before I left on maternity leave, but at the time it didn’t seem feasible. However there have been some recent administrative changed and they’re now in a position to make it happen! I’ll be heading back three days a week, Tuesday to Thursday. I’ve already arranged child care for Molly: my mom will take her on Tuesdays and on Wednesdays and Thursdays she’ll go to a home child care run by a friend of my sister. My sister will be sending CK there as well when she starts school again in the fall. It’s reassuring to know the person who will be caring for my darling girl.

I’m feeling ok about it. I think if it was full time I would not be so ok. But it’s taking some getting used to. I had convinced myself I wasn’t going back and I now have to wrap my head around the fact that I am.

On It’s May…

And you know what that means..all our favourite shows are ending for the season. We’re on the lookout for a series to watch on DVD or Netflix to keep us occupied until September rolls around again. Last year it was Lost.

Happy weekend everybody! And happy Mother’s Day to all the moms to be, moms and grandmas!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

