Skip to content

New Recipe: Baked Salmon with Avocado-Melon Salsa

May 1, 2013

Eons ago (it was 2004 but it feels like eons), my family took a trip to Prince Edward Island, home of red sand and famed red headed heroine, Anne of Green Gables.
While in Charlottetown, we ate at the Culinary Institute of Canada where I had one of those meals that you just can’t forget. I’ve had a few of those meals in my life…wild mushroom ravioli at a restaurant in London, England (’05)…butternut squash ravioli with brown butter sauce in Laguna Beach, California (’07 and ’08)…roast chicken dinner at the Port in Pickering for our first Valentines (’11)…bananas foster at the Commanders Palace in New Orleans (’10)….
I love food!
At the CIC in Charlottetown I had grilled salmon with mango peach salsa that was forever burned into my brain. It was fantastic, a wonderful moist salmon fillet paired with the perfect sweet and tart blend of a fruit salsa. Last week on new recipe night (fish), I tried to recreate it.

I didn’t do a bad job, though I had some ingredient issues. The salmon wasn’t a problem; we stocked up at our last trip to Costco. It was the salsa that stumped me. I didn’t have mango and I didn’t have peach, kind of instrumental in a mango-peach salsa. But I did have avocado and cantaloupe in my fridge. Googling salsas using those fruits, I discovered that many call for red onions and lime juice. I didn’t have those in stock either so I worked with white onions and bottled lemon juice. I gathered them together and within minutes my salsa was done.
Considering I concocted the whole thing myself, something I never do, it turned out quite lovely. It was a really fresh topping for the salmon. My hubby actually liked it too, even though when he saw it in the bowl he said and I quote:

Do I have to eat that?

He didn’t have to but he did.

Good husband.

_DSC4218 copy (1280x848)Baked Salmon with Avocado-Melon Salsa
Serves two and a quarter (Molly loved salmon!)

2 6 oz salmon fillets

olive oil (I never measure)

1/2 avocado, diced
1/2 cup melon, diced (I used cantaloupe)
1/2 small onion, diced
3 tbsp lemon

1. Pan sear the salmon in olive oil for a minute or two on each side. Place in an oven proof dish and bake for 7-9 minutes at 350 degrees F until it flakes with a fork.

2. While salmon cooks, prepare the salsa. Simply combine the remaining ingredients and let sit for 10 minutes.

3. Spoon salsa onto baked salmon and serve!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

