Skip to content

Homemade Teething Biscuits

April 30, 2013

We’re in teething mode around here! The first two of Molly’s teeth arrived with little fuss but it seems we’re not going to get off easy with the next lot.

The other day I came across a recipe on Pinterest for homemade teething biscuits.

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at making snacks for Molly and thought this would be a good place to start! Once I got both kids down for a nap, I got to work.

It was a very easy recipe to work with, though I had to adapt it a bit as I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand. The original recipe called for baby rice cereal, which I don’t have. I do have baby oat cereal, so I used that instead. Since Molly won’t eat the oat cereal on its own with a spoon, this is a great way to use it up!

The end result was pretty good! Molly was my taste tester and she seemed to like them!  I tasted one and it was quite pleasant. I might add a bit of molasses next time and see how that changes things.

_DSC4231 (1280x848)

Homemade Teething Biscuits
Adapted from Sweet Treats and More

1 cup baby oat cereal
1 cup whole wheat flour
1 banana, mashed
2 tbsp coconut oil
2 tsp cinnamon
4 tbsp water

1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Mix all ingredients together until a soft dough forms (I used my hands).
2. On a floured surface, roll dough to 1/4 – 1/2 inch thickness.
3. Use a cookie cutter to create shapes or cut dough into rectangles.
4. Place shaped cookies onto parchment paper lined cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes.
5. Allow to cool and then baby can enjoy!

_DSC4235 (1024x1280)

_DSC4237 (1024x1280)

_DSC4242 (1024x1280)

_DSC4248 (1024x1280)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 30, 2013 10:58 am

    I made these for G and he loved them! I didn’t care much for the smell of them (the ones I made smelled like homemade play doh), but he really enjoyed them and I figured that’s what mattered. The recipie I found called for a pureed something (maybe bananas?) that we didn’t have so I used one of those baby food pouch thingies. The thing I love about this recipe is that you can really use whatever you have on hand. It’s so easy and I really liked knowing what was in them 🙂

  2. May 1, 2013 4:25 am

    It looks so yummy. I wonder what I could substitute for coconut oil. Did they dissolve in her mouth or did she chew them?

    • May 1, 2013 4:52 am

      They dissolve a bit but mostly she chewed them.
      Not sure about the coconut oil…it’s a solid fat, so butter maybe? It may be that you could leave it out.

  3. Regan permalink
    January 13, 2014 10:01 am

    I have a question about these cookies, are they very firm or do they disintegrate like animal crackers and gerber toddler cookies?

    • January 13, 2014 10:05 am

      They are firm but once baby starts sucking and chewing they dissolve fairly well. We did baby led weaning so my daughter was used to handling whole foods like this.

Leave a Reply

