Skip to content

New Recipe: Memphis Style Pork Chops

April 24, 2013

Last week, new recipe night fell on a particularly tough day with the kids. Molly was teething, constantly attached to my boob and couldn’t be put down while CK had a minor meltdown if I moved more than five feet from him or couldn’t pick him up.

It’s probably a good thing I forgot we have a couple bottles of wine in the cellar…

But as tough as it was, I was determine to follow through with making something new for dinner. My challenge was pork. I found a really great recipe in my Fast and Fresh Family Dinners cookbook published by Better Homes and Gardens: Memphis Style Pork Chops.

It looked fairly easy to pull together and better yet, I had all the ingredients on hand, except for apple cider vinegar. I substituted rice vinegar and I don’t think there would have been a major flavour difference. I made three chops rather than the four the recipe originally suggests. The recipe calls for them to be grilled on the BBQ but we hasn’t refilled our propane at that point, so I used the indoor grill instead.

They turned out really well and to quote my hubby:

This is how you do pork chops!

Memphis Style Pork Chops**
Adapted from Fast and Fresh Family Dinners by Better Homes and Gardens

1/2 cup bottled chilli sauce
2 tablespoons molasses
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
1 teaspoon chilli powder
3 boneless pork loin chops, cut 3/4 to 1 inch thick (about 1 1/4 pounds total)
1 teaspoon dried basil, crushed
1/2 teaspoon paprika
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1. In a small saucepan, stir together chili sauce, molasses, vinegar, and chili powder. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer, uncovered, for 3 minutes. Remove from heat.

2. In a small bowl, stir together basil, paprika, salt, onion powder, and cayenne pepper. Rub this mixture into pork chops and refrigerate for an hour or more.

3. Place chops on indoor grill set to medium heat. Grill for 12 to 15 minutes or until juices run clear (160 degrees F), turning once and brushing with chili sauce mixture during the last 5 minutes of grilling.

**Sorry no pics! The ones I took were in horrible light and I just can’t post them

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 24, 2013 11:59 pm

    That sounds absolutely delicious! … the pork chops that is. 🙂

Leave a Reply

