Skip to content

Banana Carrot Cupcakes with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting

April 2, 2013

When I saw the recipe for Banana Carrot Cupcakes with Coconut Cream Cheese Frosting on one of my favourite food blogs, How Sweet Eats, I knew I would be making them. When my mom asked me to make dessert for Easter dinner, it seemed like the perfect opportunity to give them a try!

There is all kinds of genius mixed into these cupcakes…bananas…carrots…coconut…cream cheese…

_DSC4025 copy (1280x848)

It’s banana bread meets carrot cake but in cupcake form. And since they’re made with coconut oil, a fat that has exceptional health benefits, you can probably even say they’re good for you!

I tried my hand at decorating using my new cake decorating kit, but discovered that cream cheese icing is rather heavy and doesn’t hold it’s shape well. Still, I managed to get a bit of the swirl effect I was going for.

_DSC4024copy (1024x1280)

I had wanted to tint the icing in other Easter colours (blue, green and yellow), but realized that I would need to make a lot more icing in order to push the icing out of the icing tube. So I went with pink and used Cadbury Mini Eggs in the other colours on top.

Delicious seems like a tame word to describe these. Amazing seems inadequate. I absolutely loved them and they were enjoyed immensely by everyone but my niece, who I guess is used to plain chocolate or vanilla. She licked all the icing off but when she tasted the actual cupcake, she turned to me and said “Aunt Chrissie, I think you used the wrong recipe!”

I beg to differ CJ. I beg to differ. These will be made again. And soon! A has requested chocolate chips be added next time…sounds like a plan to me!

P.S. A very happy first birthday to my nephew CK!! I love you buddy!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

