Skip to content

Weekend Wind-Up: Anniversary Edition

March 4, 2013

We’ve been officially married a year! Yesterday was our wedding anniversary and to celebrate we treated ourselves to a weekend getaway in Niagara-On-The-Lake! It’s a quaint picturesque town, known for it’s history (Fort George and oodles of other historic sites), it’s theatre (the Shaw Festival) and it’s proximity to both the regions wineries and also to Niagara Falls. I’ve been there before, but never to stay, and always during the tourist season when it’s both expensive and very busy.

We booked the Culinary Connoisseurs package with the Prince of Wales Hotel. With the package came a one night stay, a three course meal for two at one of three restaurants and passes for wine tastings at two local wineries (for those of you not familiar, the Niagara region is one of Ontario’s prime locations for producing wine).

Since I’m still breastfeeding Molly and she doesn’t take a bottle, we of course took her with us! I couldn’t ask for a better baby to travel with, even with a tooth coming in! She charmed everyone we came in contact with and the only fussing she did was close to her bedtime at dinner on Saturday night. And Molly fussing is really her getting a little bit louder.

Saturday morning, after Molly woke up, we started getting ourselves together. Niagara isn’t too far from us, just under a two hour drive, making it a perfect trip for her morning nap. We arrived at our hotel around 11.

_DSC3763 copy (1280x1024)

When I booked our reservation I mentioned we would be there early, and they had a room all ready for us. Our room was stunning, an upgrade from our original reservation when they found out it was our anniversary, with rich royal blue patterned wallpaper, dark wood furnishings and traditional patterned linens. I particularly loved the Tiffany-inspired lamp and the canopy over the bed!

IMG_0487 (960x1280)

IMG_0488 (960x1280)

IMG_0492 (960x1280)

Molly was under the impression she would be sleeping in the bed with us. Sorry darling! It’s the pack and play for you!

Our room also came equipped with a jacuzzi tub!! I definitely made use of that 🙂

We settled ourselves in, then popped over to the Irish pub across the street for a light lunch of grilled sandwiches. We let Molly try her first french fry but she wasn’t impressed. She doesn’t really care for warm food yet.

_DSC3764 copy (1280x1024)

Horse and carriage ride available outside the hotel. If it hadn’t been so cold, we would have enjoyed that!

After lunch we headed off for a tour and tasting at Peller Estates winery. Wow!

_DSC3768copy2 (1280x1024)

It’s an incredibly impressive place. The building looks old, but isn’t. Still, that doesn’t take away from the European atmosphere. We signed up to do a tour and then did a wine tasting. The tour was neat, with an overview of the history of Peller Estates Winery and a bit of information on how wine is made in Ontario. The tour included a wine tasting as well, but since we were doing one afterwards, I abstained. One, I was driving and two, I’m breastfeeding. Didn’t want too much in my system! I wish I’d taken more pictures, but the tour was outside and in the area where they store the barrels of wine, which is climate controlled. Chilly!

_DSC3774 copy (1280x1024)

We’ll have to go back in the summer to see the vines in full bloom!

_DSC3793 copy (1280x1024)

The wine tasting after the tour was fun. We had a voucher from our hotel package, so our tasting was free. We tried a red, a white and an ice wine. The white was a Reisling, one of my favourite wines. I don’t recall the red, but it was ok. A little sharp for my taste. And I’m not a huge fan of ice wine, it’s too sweet for me. But did you know that 60% of the world’s ice wine comes from Ontario? Makes sense, given our cold temperatures! Molly was awesome through both the tour and the tasting. We are blessed with a content baby!

_DSC3800copy (1024x1280)

We left the winery with a bottle of red, a bottle of white and a cook book I can’t wait to look over! It’s called 3 Chefs and one of the chefs who helped create it is the Executive Chef at Peller.

We got back to our room for a rest and a feed, until it was time to get ready for dinner. I booked our dinner reservation at Tiara, the restaurant at Queen’s Landing, a sister hotel to the Prince of Wales. It was only a couple of minutes drive from our hotel, and we arrived on the dot of 5pm. The place was empty! It was great. I wasn’t worried about Molly kicking up a fuss, but you never know with it being close to her bed time. If I’d booked our dinner any later, we would have run into trouble. By the time we left, she was making her presence known (she got louder. Not crying, just a bit more vocal).

I wish I’d taken pictures of what I ate, but I was focused on enjoying the incredible flavours! I had an amazing risotto as my appetizer. It was extremely flavourful and featured braised oxtail! For my entree I chose cornish hen coq au vin, which was heavenly. It came with mashed potatoes and spaghetti squash. Yum! Molly tried a bit of the hen and seemed to enjoy it. Dessert though, was the best course by far! I had macadamia nut cheesecake with toasted marshmallow ice cream. Wow. It was amazing! And the service was fantastic as well. Our waiter was kind enough to take our family picture:

IMG_0512copy copy (1280x1024)

On the way back to our hotel, Molly fell asleep. And stayed asleep as I transferred her out of the carrier, which she never does! She’d only had a 1/2 hour nap that afternoon and was probably pooped from all the activity. Unfortunately, because she hadn’t nursed before bed, she was up at 9pm and didn’t go back to sleep until almost 11! She was up again at 1:30, but back down by 2 and then slept until 7am. It seemed none of us slept well. I stupidly didn’t bring my own pillows, which I usually do, but we already had enough baggage with the baby paraphernalia, I didn’t want to add to it. I should have known. My neck is incredibly sensitive and I was quite uncomfortable. A didn’t sleep well either, as he was coming down with some sort of bug.

He wasn’t feeling well at all on Sunday morning, and so we cut our day a little short. We had breakfast at a little cafe along the main street, then did a quick bit of shopping at Cows and Hatley. Cows is a really fun shop! I’ve been to the store in Prince Edward Island, but hadn’t realized they had a location here. Known for their ice cream, they also sell clothes. Their whole premise is to take modern pop culture and adapt it using cows and cow related terms. Example: I have a t-shirt that has a picture of an orange and white striped cow with the caption “Finding Nemoo”. I howled with laughter looking at their website. I picked up a few things for Molly and our nieces and nephews and then we hit the road, bypassing the second winery visit. My poor hubby was just feeling too crappy 😦

And so even though it ended with a sick husband, we had a really fabulous Saturday in Niagara-On-The-Lake. An excellent way to celebrate our anniversary. We definitely want to go back again!

IMG_0517 (960x1280)

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 7, 2013 12:58 am

    Happy anniversary!!! Molly is just so darn cute!

Leave a Reply

