Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

February 15, 2013

On Rest…

This week has been rather low key. I’ve been tired as my iron levels get themselves up to a good place so I didn’t have any ambitious projects on the go. Next week though, I hope to get some sewing done. There are a few projects I have lined up!

On The Baby…

Molly continues to be an amazing baby but is somewhat nap-challenged. Monday was particularly rough. She’s improved over the week though some of her nights suffered as well. It could be any number of things: growth spurt, teething, tummy issues as she gets used to the new foods that she’s eating. It’ll pass! I’m not willing to change our routine unless it stops working for us, so that means I continue to nurse her to sleep and nurse her in the night. Sometimes it’s tough but hey, if nothing else it gives me plenty of time to play Candy Crush Saga on my iPhone. I’m on level 82 and am addicted!

On Valentine’s Day…

February 14th used to be a day of torture for me. Before I met A, I’d never had a Valentine’s Day with anyone before. I’d be all blasé about it, defaming it as a Hallmark holiday, but the truth is that it killed me not to have anyone special to share it with. It wasn’t that I wanted to be showered with gifts and flowers. It’s that I was tired of being alone.
Now that I have A, I’ve found my peace with all things Valentine. We enjoyed a quiet night at home, just the three of us. I roasted a chicken, one of A’s favourite meals. He brought flowers and wine (which I enjoyed after Molly went to bed) and for dessert we had some very tasty salted dark chocolate caramels. A perfect night!

On Weight Loss…

Eeeee! I’m only four-ish pounds away from my goal weight! I’m still about ten away from my pre-pregnancy weight but I’m allowing for the fact that I’m breastfeeding. Yahoo! I’ve been sort of doing Weight Watchers, counting points for breakfast and lunch, with zero point snacks (fruit and veggies) but doing whatever for dinner with a small dessert. It seems to be working for me! I really have to start exercising again, though I imagine once Molly is on the move I’ll get all the exercise I need.

On My Favourite Breakfast…

I can’t manage a lot of protein in the early morning. It just makes me feel bleh. And I don’t have a lot of time to create a spectacular breakfast. But I’ve come up with a nutritious concoction that fills me up and is quick to pull together. Enter Overnight Oats Made In The Morning! Overnight oats are a great way to prepare your morning meal. You mix oatmeal with your choice of liquids, add fruit (and some people add seeds) and then let them refrigerate overnight in a covered container. The trick though, is to actually remember to pull it together the night before, something I never do. So I just make it in the morning. It means my oats aren’t as soft, but I like it that way. Here’s my concoction:

Christina’s Overnight Oats Made In The Morning

1//3 cup large flake oats
1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (True Almond is our favourite)
1 small container of vanilla yogurt (I use Activia)
1 banana, sliced

Mix it all together and voila! A tasty, nutritious breakfast. With a cup of coffee (two sugars added), the whole meal is 7 points plus if you’re using Weight Watchers.

And that’s it for this sunny Friday! I hope you all have a great weekend! Monday is a holiday here, so we have an extra day to enjoy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

