Skip to content

DIY Canvas Art

February 7, 2013

While compromise is often toted as the key to a successful marriage, there are times in which its pointless. Take mayo for example. A is a Hellman’s fan, while I much prefer the zip of Miracle Whip. We have both in our fridge. Why bother forcing the other to have a lack lustre sandwich when we could so easily buy both kinds?

But this past summer, during our basement renos, compromise came into play on numerous occasions, particularly when it came time to decide on wall colour. If A had his way, the entire house would be white. I, on the other hand, love colour. While I get the appeal of white, I find it a bit bleh. But since my darling hubby spent all of his weekends for several months finishing the basement, I said yes to painting it white. Luckily for me though, the shades of white available are numerous and A consented to a nice, warm creamy white called ‘oyster’. A nice compromise for us both. And besides, I had several ideas in mind to add colour through decoration, including this gem I found on Pinterest:

Click the picture to link to the original website that posted it!

I’m cheap. As much as I have expensive taste, I’m really cheap at heart. I hate spending my (our) own money, so if there’s an opportunity to so something myself, I’m going to do it.
I loved the idea of DIY canvas art both for the low $ aspect but also for the ease of creating it (I’m far from being an artist) and for the personalization. I could choose the colours Iย  want. In this case, the bold colour contrasting with the white straight lines very much appealed to me.

Molly and I visited our local Michael’s one day a couple of weeks ago and picked up the canvases (20″ xย  20″ square). We got a great deal! Normally $19 each, we encountered a sale where if you buy one, you buy the second for a penny! Though I only needed three for this project, I bought four. I’m sure I’ll find a use for the extra one ๐Ÿ™‚

_DSC3277 (1280x848)

I also bought acrylic paints, in a bright shade of purple and what looked like a nice grey. I already had a myriad of greens at home from working on the sign for Molly’s room last summer.

While our little miss was napping one day, I got to work. Using green painters tape, I taped off the canvas, sometimes overlapping the tap to create thicker lines.

_DSC3279 (1280x848)

Once that was done, I painted over everything (one small bottle of paint provided two coats for the whole canvas).

_DSC3281 (1280x848)

In hindsight, I should have painted the entire canvas white ahead of time to smooth it out a bit, because once I removed the green tape, I found that some of the paint had bled through. I cleaned up the blurry lines by oulining everything with a black Sharpie!

_DSC3341 (1280x848)

I love the finished effect. It’s quite ‘sharp’ I think (muah ah ah)!

I bought some picture hangers to attach to the back and over the weekend was finally able to hang them.

_DSC3333 (1280x848)

I love it! It really brightens the space and adds much needed colour…now, to get rid of those boring pillows….

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2013 9:43 am

    Looks fantastic C! When I finally get my own place, I’m gonna steal these ideas from you ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Stephanie Furey permalink
    February 7, 2013 1:25 pm

    Very cute Chrissie! Now all you need is a “Stephanie Moore” print and you’ll be finished. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I may steal this idea if I can find any wall space that doesn’t have one of my origionals on it. LOL

    • February 11, 2013 3:27 pm

      I do need another of your prints!! I have your puffin hanging in the hall and of course my talia drawing ๐Ÿ™‚
      So lucky to have a talented friend!

  3. February 7, 2013 7:01 pm

    Ah, I love this!! I may have to do it for my basement. It’s so blaaaaah and needs some brightening up!

    • stacy permalink
      April 1, 2013 9:16 am

      Hello Kara it’s really a great idea, make a DIY canvas for your basement surely it will bring more attraction there, i was also looking for something which can give more attractive look on my living room’s empty wall and i have get an idea from this great post. ๐Ÿ™‚

      whats your view on artistic prints gallery

Leave a Reply

