Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

January 25, 2013

On The Baby…

Our sweet girl has the stomach flu. The poor thing had a 12 hour puking session yesterday. 14 outfits (7 each), two couch cushions, the nursing chair, both nursing pillows, the carpet in her room and one pair of slippers were casualties. We saw the doctor and the consensus is virus. At this point (it’s 3am as I write this), we’ve been puke free for almost six hours! Hopefully the worst is over. I have to be careful with how much she nurses, only a few minutes at a time. Luckily breast milk digests quickly so even if she throws everything up, she’ll have gotten a little bit. The tricky part is that she nurses to sleep, sometimes for 1/2 hour, but I may have found a solution. After feeding her for a couple of minutes, I just stealthily switched out my boob for a pacifier and so far that seems to be working. She’s falling back asleep now.

I hate seeing my girl so sad. She’s been in good spirits considering what her little body is going through though. A little trooper.

I probably won’t be able to say the same if I get this. A trooper I am not, especially when the stomach flu is involved! Fingers crossed I escape its wrath! A had it a couple of weeks ago so hopefully he’s immune. Wish us luck!

Nothing else to ramble about this week. My thoughts are focused on getting Molly feeling better.

Happy Friday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2013 10:08 am

    Oh no!
    Hopefully you’ll escape this bug šŸ˜¦
    Hey, maybe you discovered the way to get your baby to sleep without nursing her to sleep (if you wish to, of course :))

    • January 25, 2013 10:54 am

      Thanks! She’s much better today. I tried the pacifier trick this morning but she wanted nothing to do with it! Must only work when she’s not hungry šŸ™‚

  2. January 26, 2013 2:21 am

    Hope Molly feels better soon and that you and your hubby stay healthy too!! šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

