Skip to content

Minecraft Cake

January 13, 2013

Grrr. I just wrote this whole post then accidentally deleted it. Let’s see if I can recreate it…

I volunteered to make dessert for our joint birthday celebration, where our families got together and had dinner (more on that in tomorrow’s Weekend Wind Up). I wanted to do something special for A. I’m not sure exactly how I came up with the idea, but I decided to create a cake incorporating elements of his favourite computer game, Minecraft.

Minecraft is a really fun game, one that I enjoy playing as well, though post-baby it’s mostly A doing the mining these days. The Minecraft world is made up of blocks that your character mines and then uses to build and craft objects. There are of course bad guys (referred to as MOBS) for you to fight, but you can choose to play peacefully if you like. There is no specific end or challenge to the game. It is what you want it to be, which is the appeal for me.

Screen shot

My Minecraft home 🙂 Ironically, when I logged on to take this screen shot, a Creeper blew up some of my landscape. Bastard.

I researched, sourcing images and ideas, and then Saturday afternoon, after the baby was asleep and having sent A downstairs, I got to work. The block type graphics seemed like a natural fit for a rectangular cake, and I decided to use water, sand and dirt blocks for my cake landscape.

I used a layer of vanilla cake for the base, cutting it into a 3 x 4 grid of squares (blocks). I then cut the chocolate cake into the same grid pattern and used the blocks to build up one corner of the cake with ‘dirt’ into a hill. Using coloured icing (blue for water, cream for sand and green for grass on the dirt blocks) and a decorating nib, I made the final enhancements to the cake landscape.

_DSC3230 copy (1280x1024)

Excuse my dirty table…cake decorating is dirty business!

_DSC3228 copy

As is, this would be a pretty boring cake and wouldn’t really make much sense. So last week I put on my crafting hat and using salt dough (one cup flour, one cup salt and 3/4 cup water), sculpted, baked and then painted a couple of Minecraft characters to place on top of the cake.

First up was Steve, the main character (you) who traverses through the world, mining, fighting, building and crafting. You have the option of changing Steve’s appearance in the game, but I went with his traditional apparel. He’s also sporting a diamond sword, one of the most powerful weapons you can create.

_DSC3229 copy

And of course Steve needs an adversary. Behold, the Creeper. Armless and green, with a serious frown, the Creeper does just that. He creeps up on you and if you’re not paying attention, your only warning is the slight ‘ssssss’ of his fuse being lit before seconds later he blows up, often taking you with him. Annoying little dudes.

_DSC3227 copy (1024x1280)

I had a ton of fun creating these figures! They’re not perfect (they expanded a bit in the oven…air trapped inside), but I don’t claim to be an artist. Personally, I think they’re adorable. We’re going to turn them into tree ornaments for next Christmas 🙂

It was a huge hit and A really appreciated the effort I went to. Um, who wins the Wife of the Year award??

I was just happy I was able to pull it off and do something special for my guy. Happy Birthday love!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 13, 2013 12:11 pm

    How fun and cute! What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

