Skip to content

Christmas Wind-Up

January 2, 2013

Christmas is my favourite time of year! Though I respect it as a religious holiday and recognize the importance of the day, to me, it’s more about being with my family and celebrating the sense of love, hope and wonder that the holiday represents.

This year was even more special because it marked Molly’s first Christmas! Because I was sick leading up to the 25th, I didn’t get everything done that I had wanted to, but after a moment of being sad about that, I realized that the important thing was that we were together as a family.

_DSC2973copy (1024x1280)

We were lucky to have two Christmas celebrations, one with my family and one with A’s. Since last Christmas was spent with my family, we headed to A’s parents on Christmas Eve, but not before having a lovely evening with my parents, sister and her family on the 23rd. At least I’m assuming it was lovely. I had the worst sinus headache ever that night and spent most of the evening lying on the sofa. I couldn’t even eat dinner! I was so bummed. The kids had fun though, and my niece CJ had a blast helping Molly open the presents that she got at the ‘present store’.

Thankfully by Christmas Eve day the headache had eased and I was on the mend! The antibiotics I had gotten a few days before had finally kicked in. We left home around lunch time to go to A’s parents, just in time for Molly’s afternoon nap and she blissfully slept the entire way. We were thrilled to find snow there when we arrived! Finally, a white Christmas!! A’s sisters et al were already there and we settled in for a few days of eatin’ and game playing!

_DSC2887copy (1024x1280)

Mmmm. Packaging πŸ™‚

Christmas morning itself was great! Molly enjoyed herself so much that she had a three hour nap later that morning! After she woke, we all went outside for some snow fun. Molly had her inaugural ride in the wagon my parents got her. It comes with skis for the snow!

_DSC3001copy (1280x848)

The skis pop off and there are wheels to go on for use in the summer! It’s from Lee Valley

_DSC2993copy

The great thing about spending Christmas with A’s family was that like mine, they’re very low key and very family oriented. We didn’t leave the house until we headed home on the 27th. I love that we had a chance to unwind and relax, especially after I had just been so sick that the only time I could spend with the baby was to nurse her.

_DSC2904copy

Me and my darling girl on Christmas morning

Once we got home, the days leading up to New Years were extremely lazy. We just spent a lot of time together, just the three of us and it was great! Neither of us are big on celebrating New Years and so we rang in the new year watching a movie (Total Recall….pretty good!) after Molly went to sleep (at 8pm!!!). A yummy dinner on New Years day at my parents rounded out a great holiday season, despite the fact that it didn’t exactly start the way I’d hoped because I was sick. My baking didn’t get done, I didn’t have a chance to finish my stocking stuffer shopping and I was scrambling last minute to wrap gifts but we were together as a family and that’s all that really mattered in the end.

_DSC3058copy (1280x848)

Snow!!

In other news, Molly is full on sitting up now! She’s been doing it for a couple of weeks but rarely falls anymore. I’m also incredibly proud of how well she’s been sleeping. She has stopped nursing herself to sleep and is now awake when I put her down. Thankfully she’s almost mastered the art of self soothing with the ‘baby mantra’, where she’ll groan and grumble (sometimes quite loudly) but doesn’t cry. I have no problem letting her grumble, but if she does cry, we go in to pick her up. I sometimes nurse her again, but other times she just needs a little cuddle before we put her back down again. I’m happy that she seems to be doing this naturally and we haven’t had to ‘force’ the issue. I’m not a fan of crying it out and have my fingers crossed we won’t have to resort to that method. I’m trusting that she’s sleeping on her own as she’s developmentally ready to.

And now it’s back to life as usual, with A back to work. I miss having him around, especially with the massive ‘pooplosions’ Molly’s been having lately (every other day now)…an extra pair of hands is helpful in those situations!!

It’s time to get my house and my diet back in some semblance of order. I’m happy to say that I weigh the same as I did before the holidays began…I attribute that to the fact that I lost almost 5 pounds when I was sick! I gained them back, but nothing more than that. So far. There’s still a lot of chocolate floating around…

I hope you all had a fabulous Christmas and New Years! 2013…can you believe it?

_DSC3043copy

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 3, 2013 1:02 am

    Happy New Year and belated Merry Christmas!!! Molly is just as cute as a button πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

