Skip to content

12 Days of Baking Day 6 – Giant Ginger Molasses Cookies

December 17, 2012

One of my favourite memories from my childhood is helping my Nanny (my Grandmother) bake bread. She would bake the traditional white but also what we call ‘sweet bread’, a hearty bread made with molasses that was meant to satisfy hungry fisherman out on their boats. The best part about helping her was that we were always given a piece of the dough after it had risen and I can clearly recall the taste of the molasses in the sweet bread. Yum!

_DSC2799 (1024x1280)

I love anything made with molasses as a result and so we’re back on the cookie train for day 6, making one of my absolute favourites, Ginger Molasses Cookies. This recipe comes from do it yourself crafting guru Martha Stewart, though I confess I was never on the Martha train, even in her hey day.

Once again I had to plan around the baby, prepping ingredients throughout the day until I was assured she was fed enough to plop her in the high chair while I worked. Molly and I have a blast baking together…she finds it hilarious listening to me sing the wrong words to songs…finally someone who won’t criticize my lack of that particular skill 🙂

I doubled the recipe and baked them for the full 15 minutes it suggests. They are GOOD y’all. And big! The title does say giant and it wasn’t lying! I fit six per cookie sheet. The taste is really lovely and flavourful. The recipe calls for pepper and it adds a fabulous kick along with the sweet. These will be perfect with a hot cup of tea!

_DSC2796 (1280x1024)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

