Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

December 14, 2012

On The Baby…

My little babushka is just grand! She’s starting to laugh more and is extremely interested in touching mine and A’s faces.

She’s sleeping pretty good, sometimes for an 8+ hour stretch, sometimes not. She’s still quite young and according to what I’ve read, it’s normal for her to wake hungry still. I’m leaning towards a ‘when she’s ready’ approach to sleeping and won’t even consider cutting out any night time feedings right now. We’re OK with how things are going and that’s all that should matter at this point. She’s ‘usually’ asleep by 8:30/9pm and ‘usually’ sleeps until 6-7am. Not too shabby for a four month old! Last night she was awake at 4am to feed and didn’t nurse back to sleep like she usually does. I put her in her crib, wide awake, and after a few minutes of shuffling around, she fell asleep on her own! So she is developing the skills to go to sleep on her own, just at her own pace.

I’m starting to think about introducing solids. I’ve read about the baby-led weaning technique and after discussing it with A, we’re leaning towards it. Basically it means introducing foods cut up into manageable pieces and letting her feed herself, rather than us feeding her pureed food. The idea is to let her decide how much she wants to eat, and that she won’t eat until she’s ready to. In the meantime breast feeding will continue as usual. I’m going to read up on it a bit more, but the concept appeals to me. More on that later…we have a couple of months to develop a plan of action! I’m not going to introduce anything until she’s six months.

On Finding Balance…

Up until a couple of weeks ago, I was floundering a little. I just couldn’t find the time or energy to do what I’d hoped to be able to do while on maternity leave: be a true homemaker. I think the culprit was my low iron, because since I’ve been taking my supplements, I feel like I have things under control! I’ve developed a loose schedule that seems to be working well for me and Molly and I feel like I’m in my element! I love being a wife and mother! It’s my dream job ๐Ÿ™‚

On Baking FAIL…

Day 6 of my 12 Days of Baking was supposed to be a scrumptious recipe I found: White Chocolate Coconut Truffles. I’m not sure exactly what happened but they did NOT turn out how they were supposed to. Ergo I will not be posting about them. I’m bummed, because white chocolate and coconut are one of my favourite combos! Ah well. I still have plenty on my list to bake, so Day 6 will be coming soon ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Friday all!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2012 5:13 pm

    Hi Christina! Just saw your post and saw that the White Chocolate and Coconut Truffles didn’t turn out well fo you. Bummer! It got me thinking about the recipe (I had posted that one a long time ago) and why it didn’t work for you, because I have had so many positive comments from people who have tried it. So I made it again this morning (even before my cup of coffee!). Here is the picture that I just posted on Instagram http://instagram.com/p/TO61LVDo0g/ . It works! I followed the recipe on the blog, but the only thing that isn’t mentioned in the instructions is to chill the chocolate-coconut mixture in the fridge until it is firm enough to roll and work with (I chilled it for about 45 minutes). Do let me know what went wrong with yours! Cheers! xx

    • December 17, 2012 7:39 pm

      Thanks for getting in touch! I think I may have messed up the chocolate measurement because they didn’t harden well, even in the freezer! I was trying to double the recipe and think I may have added 260g of chocolate rather than 360g. Oops! Baby brain strikes again!
      I’ll definitely try them again as soon as I have a chance!

  2. December 14, 2012 6:01 pm

    Timothy figured out how to feed himself only last week. He’s 10 months old! He would’ve starved to death if I decided to let him feed himself. On the other hand, this might have pushed him to learn how to self-feed ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reminds me of a friend who decided to lose weight by making herself eat everything with chopsticks. Well, she failed. She learned how to use them too quickly!

    Babushka, ha ๐Ÿ™‚ In Russian, “babushka” means grandmother!!!

Leave a Reply

