Skip to content

Toasted Coconut Ice Cream

December 12, 2012

I’m taking a brief time-out from the 12 Day of Baking to bring you this very important post on ice cream.

For our wedding, A and I received a nice gift certificate for Williams Sonoma. I adore that store. The possibilities for creating savory and sweet eats seem endless, and the smell! God, the smell is addicting. But what to buy? I always feel a bit of pressure to make gift certificates count, but not to use them for anything ordinary or mundane. I was at a loss until one day I came across a recipe for homemade ice cream. As far as treats go, there’s not much I love more than ice cream! An ice cream maker would be the perfect thing to buy! I actually ended up getting the ice cream maker attachment for our Kitchen Aid mixer.

For my first attempt, I decided to make an ice cream using coconut milk. If you’ve never had it, Coconut Bliss ice cream is an amazingly decadent treat to enjoy and I’ve always wanted to try and recreate it.

I mixed together and refrigerated:

  • Two cans of lite coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp vanilla

When the mixture was nice and cold (and when I had 30 minutes to spare!), I set everything up and started the process. My bowl had already been in the freezer for a few days. There is a bit of planning involved when making ice cream.

_DSC2474 (1024x1280)

 

 

_DSC2476 (1280x848)

For fun, I decided to mix things up a bit and decided to add 1/2 cup of toasted coconut. To easily toast coconut, simply add unsweetened coconut to a small non-stick frying pan and heat until it turns light golden brown. Be careful though, because very quickly it can burn!

_DSC2479 (1280x848)

The toasted coconut is added to the last 10 minutes of the ice cream mixture. Once it was done, after 30 minutes, I scooped the ice cream out and popped it into the freezer to harden it up a bit. We enjoyed some the next night with one of my homemade Chocolate Mint Oreo Cookies. The result?

Not bad! It was very tasty, though not as creamy as I would have liked. I’m wondering if next time I should use full fat coconut milk instead of the light. I think I would reduce the amount of vanilla I used as well. I’ll definitely be Googling recipes!

_DSC2500 (1280x1024)

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 12, 2012 10:06 am

    How awesome!

Leave a Reply

