Skip to content

12 Days of Baking Day 3: Chocolate Mint Oreo Cookies

December 8, 2012

A couple of weeks ago, on a cold and rainy Friday evening, we bundled ourselves up and headed off to the Christmas lights festival where we got engaged last year. We thought we left with plenty of time to get there, but we had a quick stop to make before hitting the highway and ended up arriving too late! A bit disappointing, but the stop we made more than made up for it: Dairy Queen!

I always get the same thing when I visit DQ, a mint Oreo blizzard. I love mint and but more importantly I love Oreos. Absolutely love them. Consequently, that love means I never buy them. I can’t control myself and limit my intake to just a couple; I can clear an entire row in minutes!

So needless to say when I came across this next recipe from Two Peas and Their Pod (one of my favourite food blogs), I was elated and just knew I had to make them: Chocolate Mint Oreo Cookies

Say what now? Make cookies with cookies??? Genius. Sheet genius. Well done Peas.

A couple of things to note:

  • With my cookie scoop, this recipe yielded 50 cookies
  • They name a specific brand of cocoa powder to use, but I just went with what I had in my pantry (I think it was Fry’s).
  • I couldn’t find green mint chips and wasn’t willing to drive all over town looking for them, so went with chocolate mint chips (more chocolate never hurt anyone).
  • I also couldn’t find Cool Mint Oreos (the creamy centre is mint flavoured and tinted green) but my mom, being the awesome mom that she is, came across Mint Oreos similar to the mint cookies the Girl Guides sell (a thin wafer and a layer of mint flavoured filling dipped in chocolate) and picked them up for me.

_DSC2483 (1280x848)

Having never tasted this cookie made with the original ingredients, I can’t tell you if my version is better or worse, but I can tell you that if you like chocolate and you like mint, then these are the cookies for you! Ah-maze-ing!!

_DSC2496 (1280x848)

What’s that?

Oh, you are so welcome!

_DSC2507 (1280x1024)

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 8, 2012 9:17 am

    YUMMMMM!!!! Must try this one! Chocolate mint might be one of my favorite things ever.

Leave a Reply

