Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

December 7, 2012

I really need to start writing things down.

Throughout the week something will happen and I’ll think to myself, I should mention this on Friday Ramblings, but as soon as I sit down to write, I draw a complete blank! Ah well. I suppose I’ll manage to come up with something…

On The Baby…

Molly has decided she likes sleeping on her tummy, much to Mommy’s initial horror. All of a sudden last week (maybe it had something to do with her cold?) she rolled over during a nap and stayed that way. She did the same thing that night and I checked on her a bajillion times to make sure her head was turned and she was still breathing. I’m not usually so paranoid, but all those nightmares I had for the first couple of months about her suffocating really go to me. Not to mention how ‘they’ put the fear of God into new moms when it comes to putting babies to sleep on their backs.

But of course, she was fine. She’s had excellent neck control pretty much since birth and has no problem turning her own head. And what am I going to do, go in and turn her over every time she rolls? I’d be up all night!

I don’t think so.

I still put her to bed on her back and sometimes she’ll stay that way for a couple of hours, but more often than not, 5 minutes after I put her down she’s rolled over. Strangely enough, she’s actually become more adept at soothing herself when sleeping on her tummy, as well as falling asleep on her own if I put her down and she’s still awake.

On Feeling Good…

Have I mentioned to y’all that I have low iron? It explains why I’ve been so exhausted lately, more exhausted than I should be considering my daughter sleeps 8-10 hour stretches at night and consequently so do I. My doctor has put me on a high-dose supplement and she told me I have to take it for a year! Apparently it’s quite common for women of child-bearing age to have low iron and mine was low before I got pregnant. Pregnancy and delivery just added to the problem, what with the baby taking nutrients from me and bleeding post-partum.

I’ve been on the supplement for about two weeks now and I feel great! My energy levels have increased and I no longer feel completely dragged down.

It also helps that I’ve lost 12 pounds and feel good about myself physically. Even though I have another 12 to go before I hit my target weight, I feel like I look amazing and that has a huge impact on how I feel. Christmas is going to cause my weight loss to slow a bit (I’ll be darned if I’m going to avoid the tasty treats of the holidays! I just won’t go overboard), but I’ll pick up where I left off when the holidays are over.

On Netflix…

We are so addicted to Netflix we barely watch any regular TV anymore! Together, A and I are watching Charmed (my pick) and Reaper (his pick), and on my own during the day I’ve been watching Stargate SG-1, embracing my quiet love of Sci-Fi. Soon though I’ll have to start with more children’s programming, because Molly is starting to respond to what’s on the TV (she loves Richard Dean Anderson…who doesn’t?).

On Christmas…

My inner crafter appeared again last week with the creation of this Christmas wreath:

_DSC2487 (1280x1024)

Made from a coat hanger formed into a crude circle and decorative Christmas balls (I picked up a package of 100 for $12!), I think it looks pretty spiffy! My inspiration was from a Pinterest pin (of course). It was a bit tricky to maneuver some of the balls onto the wire and some of the popped off at times (I skipped over the hot glue step in the interest of time), but it was a pretty easy craft to make!

And on that note, I shall take my leave. This is a rare morning when I’m up well before Molly and have a bit of time to myself. She’ll be up soon though and I need to finish my coffee. Happy Friday!!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2012 10:55 am

    Well boo for pregnancy brain turned mommy brain and for low iron but Im glad you are feeling better. I feel your pain. They diagnosed me with low iron at 24 weeks and I have been on supplements ever since but havent seen much improvement. Im definitely better but my numbers are taking a while to go up so I changed my diet too. Hope you continue to improve!

    And OMG that wreath is adorable! It looks so easy to make and now I think I want to make one!

  2. December 7, 2012 11:11 am

    So true, THEY do put the fear of God into new moms when it comes to putting babies to sleep on their backs. However, I read that once babies roll over on their own – it is deemed safe for them to sleep however they like – on their tummies, sides, or whatever (not sure if there is anything else left ;)). The recommendation is still to put them on their backs and let them figure out what they want.

    And I actually remember reading that babies sleep much better on their tummies – they move less in their sleep, the gravity works better to keep them still. Before SIDS sleeping on belly was the deemed the best thing.

    Anyway… I am sure you know all this 🙂
    Love the wreath! Now I am thinking I should make one, too. Coat hanger, huh?..

Leave a Reply

