Skip to content

12 Days of Baking Day 2: Chewy Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

December 6, 2012

Christmas arrived at our house on the weekend. We managed to get the bulk of our decorations up while Molly napped, which was a huge help. Decorating for the holidays is one of my favourite things to do. It just gets me in the spirit of the holiday, of being with family and friends, and of the desire to give and do nice things for people. That’s why day 2 of the 12 Days of Baking found me making Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.

_DSC2383 copy (1280x1024)

My husband is on a never ending quest to find oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. Every trip to the grocery store can go one of two ways: either he finds a fresh batch in the bakery and buys them, or he finds oatmeal cookies, sans the chocolate chips and will curse the bakers.”How hard is it to add chocolate chips?” he’ll say

Poor guy. There’s so little he asks for!

Well my love, these cookies were added to my holiday baking list just for you! I’m not promising you can eat them all, but I doubled the recipe so there will be more than enough to go around!

I found the recipe on Pinterest. Click here for the link to the website to access the recipe from How Sweet It Is. A couple of changes to note: I doubled the recipe and had 4 dozen cookies exactly using my cookie scoop to form the balls, and I baked them for 14 minutes rather than the 9-11 suggested.

I’m finding that baking with a baby requires some planning. When I was making dinner and she was happily with A, I prepped all the ingredients and set them aside. Just before it was time to put her to bed, I made the dough and stuck it in the fridge as the recipe requires. And after she went down, I prepped them for the oven…unfortunately we had a bad night going to bed and she was up again before the first batch could go in! My darling daughter then got her second wind, and so she hung out with A and I while the cookies baked.

And the verdict from A?

“These cookies are ridiculous!”

Yay!

_DSC2440 copy (1280x848)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

