Skip to content

12 Days of Baking Day 1 – Cardamom Cookies

December 4, 2012

And the 12 Days of Baking begins!! I chose to start my Christmas baking with a recipe I tried years ago and haven’t made since (and therefore have no clue where I found the recipe).

I’ve been a fan of cardamom ever since enjoying an Indian rice pudding (Kheer) at a friend’s wedding years and years ago. It adds something different to what is basically an oatmeal raisin cookie.

It took several hours for me to make them, partly because it requires the butter be at room temperature and the currants to soak in an egg and vanilla mixture for an hour, and partly because my little miss was still under the weather and a bit of a grumpy Gus when I made them! There were time outs for nursing, time outs for napping and at one point, I ended up with her in the Snugli in order to scoop the batter into the cookie sheets. Not so easy trying to keep her hands out of the bowl šŸ™‚

But don’t let that deter you, it’s really an easy recipe to pull together and if you don’t have a sick baby, it probably won’t take you as long to make as I did! Hope you enjoy!

Cardamom Cookies

Approximate yield 45 cookies (with my cookie scoop, I made 36)

2 large eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

2/3 cup currants

1 2/3 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp salt

3/4 tsp ground cardamom

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/3 tsp ground allspice

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1 1/2 cup dark brown sugar

2 cups old fashioned rolled oats (I used quick rolled oats, because that’s what I had on hand)

Instructions: Whisk eggs and vanilla in small bowl to blend. Mix in dried currants; cover and let stand at room temperature for one hour.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour three large baking sheets.

Sift flour, baking soda, salt and spices in medium bowl. Using an electric mixer, beat butter in large bowl until fluffy. Add sugar and beat until smooth. Add currant mixture and beat to blend. Stir in flour mixture. Mix in oats. Drop batter by level tbsp fulls onto sheets, spaced 1 1/2 inches apart. Use moistened fingers to flatten slightly.

Bake one sheet at a time until golden brown, about 14 minutes.

The one thing I did differently was to use my cookie scoop rather than a tablespoon measurement. It’s super easy to just scoop, squeeze and drop the batter onto the baking sheet!

_DSC2325 copy (1280x848)

_DSC2319 copy (1280x848)

Mama’s little helper

_DSC2358 copy (1280x848)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

