Skip to content

Avocado Egg Salad Sandwich

November 27, 2012

Joining Weight Watchers has succeeded in motivating me to cook again! But not only do I have to consider how healthy something is, I also have to think about how much time is needed to make it. This is less of a concern for dinner, since A is usually home when I start cooking. Lunches though, are another matter and unless Miss Molly has decided to nap, I have to navigate caring for her and making something for myself at the same time. Not always an easy task!

One night while nursing, I came across a recipe for Avocado Egg Salad Sandwiches on Pinterest (click the link to take you to the original post and recipe). I’m not normally a consumer of egg salad, but I was intrigued by the addition of avocado and using curry powder to add a little pizzazz. A few weeks ago I followed this recipe, and the result was amazing. Seriously amazing. I loved the texture and the flavour from the curry was lovely. However, preparing the eggs (they suggest hard boiled) took a bit of time, time that is precious when it comes to eating. Also, using the measurements in the original recipe made a bit too much of this yummy sandwich filling for one person and since my darling hubby is not a fan of avocado, a bit went to waste.

So I sat down and tweaked it. My version goes something like this:

1 egg, scrambled

1/2 avocado, diced

1 tsp mayo (Miracle Whip is my preference)

1/4 tsp curry powder

Mix all the ingredients, slap between a couple pieces of bread and voila! C’est tout. It took minutes to prepare and was just as tasty as the original recipe. Serve with a side of veggies and you have yourself a healthy meal (in the Weight Watchers world, that’s 9 of the plus points)!

Diced avocado, scrambled egg, Miracle Whip and curry powder

Side note: I highly recommend rinsing the mixing bowl as soon as you can, while it’s still wet. In my experience, avocado is hard to get off once it’s dried.

It’s so tasty, even the yellow/green colour doesn’t bother me!

Enjoy!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 27, 2012 1:58 pm

    That looks so yummy! I’m pretty sure I’ve pinned this one too, but I haven’t had a chance to try it out yet. I’m glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

