Skip to content

Friday Ramblings

November 16, 2012

On the Baby…

Molly is becoming a bit more assertive. She’s still amazingly calm but if she wants something, you know it! She’s discovered new, louder sounds and has almost mastered the back arch. Her favourite thing lately is to stand up. She loves it! We’re going to get the jumparoo from my sister soon for her to enjoy. For the most part she’s sleeping through the night, but there are the odd nights where she’s up once or twice. Like last night. Coffee is my friend today (don’t worry! My lactation consultant gave it the ok and I only have one cup a day. Two max).

On Breastfeeding…

We’ve been breastfeeding exclusively for three months now! Yay! And all of a sudden, it just clicks. It was never horribly difficult, but for the first little while Molly had a shallow latch and that pinched a bit (ouch). She’s got the hang of it now though! And is recognizing that her food comes from mama. Some of her cutest moments are when she pulls off and looks up at me and does her quiet ‘boo’ and ‘goo’.
We tried pumping and feeding from a bottle, but to be honest it’s just one more thing to think about doing and I’ve got my hands full already. I have no problem being her food source and don’t mind the time it takes.

On Getting Out…Alone…

I’m going to endeavour to go to the drugstore on my own this weekend. I don’t feel particularly desperate for my own time, but it won’t hurt either of us (Molly and I) to be apart. Molly has started getting a bit upset if I’m not visible to her when she’s with A. This is completely normal and I’m not looking to ‘break’ her of this, but a little bit of independence won’t hurt her.
And it won’t hurt me either. The other day I thought about leaving her with our parents for the night (which won’t be until I stop nursing) and got extremely anxious thinking about her missing me. The thought of her being sad kills me. So it’ll be good for me too, to get out even for just a half hour.

On Weight Watchers…

Almost 10 pounds lost people!! 15 to go. My goal weight is five pounds more than my pre-pregnancy weight, but I’m allowing for the fact that my boobs are significantly heavier than they used to be. I’m sticking with the point system and though last week I didn’t make the best choices (pizza and cheesecake), I’m back on track this week! With the exception of a piece of cranberry bliss bar from Starbucks. So. Good.

On Christmas…

Whee! We’re entering the holiday season! Molly’s first. Awwww. She won’t remember it, but I will, so I want to make it special. Still, her needs come first so we’ll see how much I get done. Hopefully more than last year. I was only 9 weeks or so pregnant last year and so tired!
I have one Christmas craft done and will share that soon. I hope to do some baking this year and then there’s shopping! That’s going to be interesting. Thank goodness I can go out during the week. Navigating the malls/shops on the weekend/evenings with a stroller is not appealing.

And that’s about it! Happy Friday all!

20121116-103657.jpg

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 16, 2012 11:43 am

    She is adorable! Glad everything is going so well!

Leave a Reply

